Monster's equipment

Land Outcast

Explorer
Yes, I realize its dumb...

I) Monsters come equipped only with what they are noted as having in their description?

II) Monsters come equipped with what they are noted as having in their description plus what they can use from their (rndomly produced) tresaure?

III) Monsters come equipped with what they are noted as having in their description plus the equipment woth the wealth an NPC of their ECL[ or CR?] would have?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

II.

EDIT:

SRD Supporting Text. From the Monster Intro Section:

SRD said:
Treasure

This line reflects how much wealth the creature owns. In most cases, a creature keeps valuables in its home or lair and has no treasure with it when it travels. Intelligent creatures that own useful, portable treasure (such as magic items) tend to carry and use these, leaving bulky items at home.

And the Treasure section:

SRD said:
MONSTERS WITH TREASURE

Every monster has a treasure rating (indicating how much treasure it has, although for some creatures the rating is “None”). The tables found below are used to determine the specifics. After referencing the level and kind of treasure (coins, goods, items) found in the creature’s description, roll on the appropriate row and columns of the proper table.

When generating an encounter dealing with monsters away from their lair, remember that a creature only takes what it can easily carry with it. In the case of a creature that cannot use treasure, that generally means nothing. The monster safeguards or hides its treasure as well as it can, but it leaves it behind when outside the lair.
 
Last edited:

Well playing a monster, (as a player) would have the normal gold as any other pc have,
though starting pagage.. is
I) Monsters come equipped only with what they are noted as having in their description.

If you really did care, as a dm playing the monster, you could roll its treasure before the encounter and equip the monster with those items... Note that this mgiht increase the challenge rating
 

I'm usually a dedicated DM, so I'll have no trouble in rolling treasure before the sessions (I would alredy do so, but the tresaure rolling has been turned almost into a ritual in my group).

With the difficult it is for useful items to pop out, I consider no CR adjustment would be needed.

BTW, I consider vampires as NPCs of their level+2 when building them.
how do you manage vampires' equipment (as NPCs or monsters)?

L.O.
 

Land Outcast said:
Yes, I realize its dumb...

I) Monsters come equipped only with what they are noted as having in their description?

II) Monsters come equipped with what they are noted as having in their description plus what they can use from their (rndomly produced) tresaure?

III) Monsters come equipped with what they are noted as having in their description plus the equipment woth the wealth an NPC of their ECL[ or CR?] would have?

It's (II) in the general case (monster out of the book). If the monster gets character class levels added, then the official rule says it's then (III: by ECL). My opinion is that that's very broken due to the radical increase in gear-power from a single attached character class level.

I prefer the core 3.0 rule where classed monsters only got NPC gear for the actual number of character class levels they get.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top