Mounted Overrun (Trample)

Kealios

Explorer
If a character with the Trample feat attempts to use the Overrun move in combat, a) does the character still get an attack, especially if combined with the Ride-By Attack, and b) can the mount initiate it's own Overrun, thus freeing up the player's need to spend a standard action on the Overrun?

I'm trying to get nasty on my PC's by using NPC's with lances mounted on Large Scorpions, and not really familiar with the Mounted Combat rules, am trying to read up and get creative for the NPC's battle plans. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Kealios
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Kealios said:
If a character with the Trample feat attempts to use the Overrun move in combat, a) does the character still get an attack, especially if combined with the Ride-By Attack...

You can't combine Trample and Ride-By Attack. Trample requires Overrun; Ride-By Attack requires a charge; per the PHB errata, you cannot overrun on a charge.

-Hyp.
 

Kealios said:
...b) can the mount initiate it's own Overrun, thus freeing up the player's need to spend a standard action on the Overrun?

Unless the mount is intelligent, no. The rider must command the beast to attack, which in most cases is a Move Action.
 

Remove ads

Top