Movement AoO

Borthos

First Post
I'm in an argument about taking a five foot step in combat and whether or not it provokes an AoO. in the PHB, it does state that taking a 5 foot step does not provoke AoOs but as part of the * it states that regardless of the movement, if you move out of a threatened square, you provoke an AoO. So my question is, in combat, if you take a 5 foot step out of a threatened square, do you provoke an AoO? I'm saying it does because you move out of a threatened square regardless, but he's saying no. So i'm just trying to get this clarified.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, since this is the Pathfinder forum, I'm going to quote from the PRD core rules (not the PHB):

"Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot step and the withdraw action."

So... there you have it. It provokes in all situations except those listed, including a 5' step.

... Actually, in checking the 3.5e SRD, that's how it was written back then too. So yeah. I think you might have misread something somewhere.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top