Movement & Reach Weapon?

Raflar

First Post
Quick question about Movement and Reach Weapons.

1) If I have a Reach Weapon (Longspear) and an Ogre rushes to attack me, I clearly get an AoO at the 10' mark before he gets beside me to attack. If I am successful, does that stop the Ogre or does he keep running through to occupy the space beside me (and commencing his bashing of my skull).

2) Alternatively, if a Goblin runs past my square and I take my AoO on it, does his movement stop on a successful hit as well?

The way I see it, in scenerio 1) the Ogre would impale himself if he continued. but in scenerior 2) I 'could' see the goblin rolling away to continue it's move..

Thoughts? The Player's Handbook was a little vague on this.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

In the core rules, there is no way to stop someone from moving up to (or past) your space. In Sword and Fist (3.0) and Complete Warrior (3.5), there is a feat called Hold the Line, that allows you to stop an opponent's movement.
 

(1) Actually, no. If the Ogre has Reach, he can move 10 ft. away from you, suffer no AOO, and make his attack.

(2) In any case, a normally succesful AOO does not stop the action in question (the movement). Alternatives are to Trip on your AOO, or use the special feats like "Hold the Line", or maybe "Large and in Charge" (both from Sword & Fist).
 

The Ogre has 10' reach too, so chances are it will stop and hit you from 10' away rather than run right up to you. So no AoO. Ignoring that little quibble, damaging a moving opponent with an AoO doesn't stop its movement... however other things could. You could instead use the AoO to attempt to trip the opponent if you were using a Guisarme, for example.
 

As stated above the ogre would most likely stop at the 10' mark and attack (No AoO), but if he did continue the best thing to do would be to set your spear to recieve a charge and deal double damage.
 

You might be thinking of grapple and disarm, of the AoO that these feats provoke deal damage, the attack is cancelled. Charges are not halted by damage in the same way. As others have said though, you can try to trip the opponent, which keeps them in the square 10' away from you, at perfect range to attack when your turn comes up.
 

Hold the Line enables you to make an attack of opportunity on a charging foe as they enter your threatened area, as opposed to exit.

Standstill, from the XPH (although a General feat) forces opponents damaged by an attack of opportunity to make a reflex save (DC = 5+Damage dealt IIRC), or have their movement halted.

If you're using a Longspear, Hold the line is a devestating feat. Set to recieve the charge, and get your three attacks (One as they enter, one from the readied action, dealing double damage, and one as they exit) as the enemy comes in.
 

Remove ads

Top