D&D 5E Multi-classing question

Yardiff

Adventurer
Eldritch Knight 9th takes a level in wizard, what spells known does he get?



Sad that multi-classing doesn't get you any saving throw proficiencies. I don't think it would be OP if it went like this "The first time you multi-class you can choose one saving throw proficiency from your know class. Any further multi-classing does not gain you more saving throw proficiencies."
 

log in or register to remove this ad

"You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class." - PHB pg 164.
"At 1st level, you know three cantrips of your choice from the wizard spell list. [...] At 1st level, you have a spellbook containing six 1st-level wizard spells of your choice." - PHB pg 114.

"You determine your available spell slots by adding together [...] your levels in the [...] wizard classes, [...] and a third of your fighter [...] levels (rounded down) if you have the Eldritch Knight". - PHB pg 164.

So you gain 3 cantrips, and 6 1st-level spells, all from the Wizard list. Then your "spells per day" are as if you were a 4th level Wizard. You may prepare Wizard spells from your spell book, using the Wizard rules (Int mod + Wiz level). Your Eldritch Knight spells don't need to be prepared; they are all available each day.
 

The Eldritch Knight 9 who picks up Wizard 1 gains no new eldritch knight spells known.
They gain a spellbook which contains 6 wizard spells.
The have a total number of spell slots equal to those of a 4th level caster (3 levels for their eldritch knight levels + 1 level for their wizard level) giving them 4 1st-level slots and 3 2nd-level slots.
 


Keep in mind they can't prepare any 2nd level wizard spells. Slots are determined by adding the classes together, but the max spell level for each class is determined individually.
 

Remove ads

Top