Multiclassing into wizard and spellboks

jasin

Explorer
Considering that wizards learn two daily spells (one of which is usable each day) each time they get a daily power, what happens when you multiclass into wizard and take the Adept Power feat?

Do you get two spells and cast one of them each day as a wizard would, or do you get only one, as you would when multiclassing into any other class?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

jasin said:
Considering that wizards learn two daily spells (one of which is usable each day) each time they get a daily power, what happens when you multiclass into wizard and take the Adept Power feat?

Do you get two spells and cast one of them each day as a wizard would, or do you get only one, as you would when multiclassing into any other class?

The feat specifies one, and says nothing about exceptions for wizards.
 

I don't know whether there's an exception written in for wizards. But personally I'd allow you to pick two and prepare one the way a wizard does. It can't really hurt.
 

Gargoyle said:
The feat specifies one, and says nothing about exceptions for wizards.
I know. I'm wondering if people think this is how the rule "should" work (whether by intent, or by game balance).

Wizards pick two daily power every time anyone else picks one. It would stand to reason that this means that two wizard powers with the ability to use only one of them each day are equal in usefulness to one power from another class.

If Adept Power can get you one power from another class, should it get you two powers from the wizard list?
 

It doesn't look like Expanded Spellbook would work: you would get a spell in a spellbook, but without a method of preparing it, it would be useless.
 

Gargoyle said:
The feat specifies one, and says nothing about exceptions for wizards.
I'd go with this. The descriptions of what you get are intentionally limited. Therefor, unless it explicitly said that you get the wizard spellbook class feature, which lets you pick two for the book and learn one, I'd say that you don't.
 

I say no.

For a wizard multiclassing as a fighter, it seems a bit silly to write down his daily fighter power in a spellbook.
 

Starfox said:
I say no.

For a wizard multiclassing as a fighter, it seems a bit silly to write down his daily fighter power in a spellbook.

Em, actually it would be the other way around...whatever.

I´m with malraux here. If doesn´t say you get the spellbook, you don´t get it.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top