glass
(he, him)
No problem.Kahuna Burger said:The problem is that you can also make an extra attack with a double weapon, or by using your shield as an off hand weapon. But you do not take two weapon fighting penalties unless you choose to take that extra attack, not merely for being equipped to do so.
You can decide (or not) to wield your double weapon as two weapons. If you decide to do so, you take TWF penalties.
You can decide (or not) to wield your weapon and shield as two weapons. If you decide to do so, you take TWF penalties.
Your argument begs the question: you were assuming your own conclusion. My position is that you take TWF penalties for fighting with two weapons (or anything that is treated as two weapons). This allows you to take an extra attack, it is not contingent on it.
How do you rule the TWD feat? Does it apply when simply holding two weapons? What about when holding a double weapon?
glass.