D&D 3E/3.5 Nerveskitter (3.5)

Alexander123

First Post
I was reading the description for immediate actions and it says that you cannot use immediate actions when flat-footed. Now at the start of combat you are flat-footed so does that mean that you can't cast the spell nerveskitter (The Spell Compendium version) which gives a bonus to initiative? That doesn't seem to make sense.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Dont' know the spell, but maybe it means that after the first round of combat, when you are no longer flat-footed, it changes your initiative score, which may help your combat situation a bit.

So instead of

A wins and goes
B goes
A goes
B goes
A goes
B goes
A goes
B goes

You could get

A wins and goes
B goes
A goes, B casts nerve skitter as immediate action.
B goes
B goes
A goes
B goes
A boes


Assuming that B is not taken out of the fight before getting to cast it, that could give B two actions "in a row" as if A has missed a turn.
 


Your place in the initiative order does not change if you later get a bonus to initiative.

I believe there is errata for the Spell Compendium stating that you can cast Nerveskitter while flat-footed, as a special exception to the rules.
 

Spell Comp erratta mentioned

Page 146 – Nerveskitter [Omission]
The spell is missing some explanatory text the spell description. Insert this sentence after the first.
“Unlike other immediate actions, you can cast this spell while flat-footed.”
 


Remove ads

Top