Never thought about it before, but...

Carnifex

First Post
I just thought of something, but it's not something that has veer come up or been an issue in any of the 3e games I've partaken in or run. Considering one of my characters, a cleric, who has stats of 12 10 12 10 14 12, I thought it would suit his character and personality to maybe pick up one or two levels of fighter as he progresses. However, I realised the nice power attack and expertise feat chains were unavailable due to stats being a bit too low. Of course, getting some magic items to boost stats would help with this.

I then wondered - what if the amgic item was then lost or removed?

What if you have a character with the Power Attack or Expertise feat, or any feat which they only meet the prereq's for because of a magic item boosting their stats, and they then loose the bonus, resulting in their relevant stat dropping below the prerequisite. Are they still able to use the feat.

I feel a bit stupid asking this question because I feel the answer is probably obvious and as a 3e veteran I should know, but it's just something that has never come up in my experience before.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

if your stat falls you lose the ability to use the feat until that stat is raised again. you don't permenantly lose the feat, just temporarily the ability to use it. Just as if your wisdom was drained to a 9, you'd lose the ability to cast cleric spells until your wisdom rose, but you wouldn't permenetly lose that ability
 

Hammychamham is absolutely 100% correct. This is also a rules thread, and this is going to get way too many hits just because it is in GD...

Rav
 


Perhaps we could add that the stat-boosting item must be worn for a significant part of the previous level so that the character can actually chose the feat who's prerequisite is met simply because a magic item is worn...

Maitre D
 

Maitre Du Donjon said:
Perhaps we could add that the stat-boosting item must be worn for a significant part of the previous level so that the character can actually chose the feat who's prerequisite is met simply because a magic item is worn...

Maitre D

That would be a judgment call from the DM and not an official rule...
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top