Non-stacking bonuses, and penalties

Bullgrit

Adventurer
I see hypothetical questions like this on this board all the time, and I think how silly it is to discuss such things. Then my group encounters such a situation in a real game.

My character had two +1 morale bonuses on him (aid spell and bard song). Now, these don't stack, so the end result is a +1 bonus. But then he got hit with a -1 penalty (bane spell). There was confusion among us as to what that means in the end result.

Result A: One +1 bonus and the -1 penalty cancel each other out, leaving the second bonus for a total +1 bonus for me.

Result B: Since I've got a total +1 bonus, the -1 penalty cancels it out, leaving a total +0 for me.

The DM ruled for Result A, and that's what we went with. But I'm not sure about this. What's the correct answer.

Bullgrit
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


The correct answer is actually A, though not for the same reason. When bane is cast on someone with a bless effect, both effects are automatically canceled (no save, no SR). So, the ally would be left with the bardic music (+1 morale bonus on attacks and damage).
 

The correct answer would have been B. Penalties don't cancel any particular bonus, so they can't reduce just one half of an overlapping bonus.
Would it have made a difference with the order: aid spell, bane spell, bard song?

Bullgrit
 

When bane is cast on someone with a bless effect, both effects are automatically canceled (no save, no SR).
Just to nip this misunderstanding in the bud, before other reponses might get sidetracked: the spells in our scenario were aid and bane, not bless and bane. The difference is the counter/dispell effects of bless and bane.

Bullgrit
 



Infiniti2000 said:
Oops, I thought you said bless. It's B as Stormcrow mentions. :)

Going from memory, in 1E Unearthed Arcana, the Aid spell granted the effects of a Bless spell as well as some hit points. If that were still the case, the morale bonus might be dispelled by Bane.

But it's not :)

-Hyp.
 

Ironically, I "argued" for Result B, myself. But it just seems so . . . wrong. I got two +1 bonuses, and it only takes one -1 penalty to completely negate them both.

And repeating my second question: would it make a difference with a different order of the effects.

Bullgrit
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top