Number of attacks?

Lichemaster

Explorer
Had a question from my last session about attacks?

The Ranger is now 6th level and gets 2 attacks per round, plus he is using 2 weapons (one in each hand).
So on a charge he gets one attack only?

He needs to use a full attack actions to get all 3 of his attacks?

And how do you do his attacks? one on his iniative score and then 2 at the end of the turn or 2 on his initaive score and then on at the end of the turn?

Also (please forgive me) do his 2 attacks are used for ranged weapons too? would he fire one at his iniative and then one at the end of the turn or does he only get one attack with a ranged weapon? His base attack bonus is +6/+1

Thanks in advance....................
 

log in or register to remove this ad

To make more than one attack on your turn in a round you must make a full attack action. A charge action is not a full attack action, so there is only one attack. When you do make a full attack action all of the attacks are resolved on your turn in the initiative order. Ranged attacks are handled exactly like melee attacks in this regard.
 


Not forgetting that as a 6th level ranger he has presumably got the improved two weapon fighting virtual feat too, so he gets two attacks with his primary hand and two attacks with his off hand weapon as well, for 4 attacks when he does a full attack.

Cheers
 

Yup.

Re. ranged attacks.
As far as the rules go (AFAIK), at your initiative you get all the attacks to which you are entitled, including cleaves and off-hand attacks. That goes for both melee and ranged attacks.

If you want to add time per attack, to make it more Realtm, then you are free so to do. We've done it in previous non-d20 games and it slows combat down and makes the whole initiative tracking thing harder.
Does make combat more realistic, but D&D is after all a game and if extra rules get in the way I would vote on not using them.

Hope my ramble has been of some help.
 

Lichemaster said:
Had a question from my last session about attacks?

The Ranger is now 6th level and gets 2 attacks per round, plus he is using 2 weapons (one in each hand).

To answer these questions, I assume that his BAB is +6/+1 and he has two-weapon fighting.

So on a charge he gets one attack only?

Yes, at full attack bonus, with either weapon.

He needs to use a full attack actions to get all 3 of his attacks?

Yes. His attacks (sans strength, magical and other bonuses) would be +4/+4/-1.

And how do you do his attacks? one on his iniative score and then 2 at the end of the turn or 2 on his initaive score and then on at the end of the turn?

By the rules, all on his initiative count. I suggest doing it that way for simplicity's sake.

Also (please forgive me) do his 2 attacks are used for ranged weapons too? would he fire one at his iniative and then one at the end of the turn or does he only get one attack with a ranged weapon? His base attack bonus is +6/+1

When using a ranged weapon (other than a crossbow) that requires ammunition (such as a bow or sling) he would attack twice in a round, at +6/+1. A crossbow requires a loading time, so he would not be able to use his full attack routine with one.

Thrown weapons must be drawn, which is a standard action unless he has Quick-Draw, so he would not be able to throw more than one weapon per round without that feat.
 

Storm Raven said:
Thrown weapons must be drawn, which is a standard action unless he has Quick-Draw, so he would not be able to throw more than one weapon per round without that feat.
Drawing a weapon is move action, not a standard action. If he has two weapons already drawn at the beginning of his turn, he can either throw them both with is primary hand (if you allow moving a weapon from one hand to the other as a free action) at +6/+1, or throw one with the primary hand and one with the off hand, applying all the penalties of two weapon fighting (which of course varies depending on what feats you have) including the half str bonus to the off hand damage. With quick draw (or if you're using darts and/or shuriken) you can throw three weapons, two primary and one off hand. Of course I2WF will give you another off hand attack at -5 in addition to the normal penalties of two weapon fighting. And lastly, Rapid shot will give you yet another attack at your full attack bonus but all attacks that round suffer an additional -2 penalty.

Next, we'll discuss how many attacks a 6th level thri-kreen ranger gets.
 

Storm Raven said:
When using a ranged weapon (other than a crossbow) that requires ammunition (such as a bow or sling) he would attack twice in a round, at +6/+1. A crossbow requires a loading time, so he would not be able to use his full attack routine with one.
Actually, the sling also requires a loading time of 1 move action, same as a light crossbow. So you cannot fire a sling more than once per round. I allow the Rapid Reload feat to be chosen for the sling as well as one of the crossbows, in case someone wants to use a sling at higher levels and get more than one shot per round.
 

Thanks everyone for helping out.
Storm raven- I really appreciate the extra help, I read the rules a few years ago and just started playing and my busy life, finding time to re-read a book or a new one really is no choice for a D.M.
I just hope my group start reading there handbooks to help me out sometimes.
 

Remove ads

Top