# of Daily and Utility Powers per day

For a nice table of what lvl of powers you can USE (eg, a wizard can have prepared) every day, see CH8 in the DMG. There's a nice table there, which really would've been placed a lot better in PHB. (Remember though, that you don't have to appoint powers of exactly that level, if you like a lower power level (like sleep instead of another lvl2x daily power) you can use that one too.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm not doubting you guys but where exactly was this written? Because I remember reading the section about wizards picking their dailies and noticed that it only mentioned that they could not choose the same power twice, no mention was made about not choosing the other power of the same level.
 

I'm not doubting you guys but where exactly was this written? Because I remember reading the section about wizards picking their dailies and noticed that it only mentioned that they could not choose the same power twice, no mention was made about not choosing the other power of the same level.

It's not written out right like that because there is no reason to jump to the conclusion that the wizard breaks the power framework to pieces with his spellbook. Exceptions to the general rule are explained, and the spellbook exception gives the wizard an extra power to choose from at each level he gets a new daily or utility, not a way to cheat the power curve and frontload his highest level dailies.
 

I'm not doubting you guys but where exactly was this written? Because I remember reading the section about wizards picking their dailies and noticed that it only mentioned that they could not choose the same power twice, no mention was made about not choosing the other power of the same level.

PHB p. 158 said:
Daily and Utility Spells: Your spellbook also holds your daily and utility spells. You begin knowing two daily spells, one of which you can use on any given day. Each time you gain a level that lets you select a daily spell or a utility spell, choose two different daily spells or utility spells of that level to add to your book.

Personally, I'm inclined to think the bolded section should say "of that level or lower" since everybody else in the game can always choose a lower-level power if they want one. For simplicity's sake, though, I'd probably say that both powers chosen must be of the same level (i.e. no spellbook "slot" holding a 1st-level and a 5th-level daily).

EDIT: Think I misunderstood what you were asking. Regarding the wizard preparing his highest-level spells all the time, a CustServ answer clarified that you can't use the spellbook to cheat the usual rule on trading lower-level powers for higher-level ones, but that's the only official word so far.
 
Last edited:

There was a FAQ or some such up at WotC that explicitly stated you could not treat the wizard as if it had spell slots. Of course, now I can't find it.

[edit]

WotC FAQ

8. Can a 5th level wizard memorize two 5th level daily spells instead of a 1st and a 5th level daily spell?

At the end of each long rest, a wizard prepares one 1st-level Daily spell chosen from the list of 1st level daily spells in her spellbook. If she were at least 2nd level, she would also prepare one 2nd-level utility spell chosen from the list of 2nd-level utility spells in her spellbook. At 5th level she would also prepare one 5th-level daily spell from her list of 5th-level daily spells in her spellbook. She would repeat this process for every level that she has access to wizard daily or utility spells. She could not, as a 5th-level wizard, prepare a second 5th-level daily spell in place of a daily spell of a different level.

Guess I remembered that wrong. YMMV.
[/edit]
 
Last edited:

Personally, I'm inclined to think the bolded section should say "of that level or lower" since everybody else in the game can always choose a lower-level power if they want one. For simplicity's sake, though, I'd probably say that both powers chosen must be of the same level (i.e. no spellbook "slot" holding a 1st-level and a 5th-level daily).

I'm not talking about spells for the spellbook. I'm talking spells you pick to use that day.
 

How does this work when you replace spells later instead of gaining access to new ones, though?

Do I pick 2 new ones and replace 2 old ones instead? If not, and if I can't use lower level daily spells in my daily slots, the wizard's supposed versatility advantage will largely disappear at higher levels.
 

How does this work when you replace spells later instead of gaining access to new ones, though?

Do I pick 2 new ones and replace 2 old ones instead?

When you replace a power, you replace that package of two spells (or three spells for enhanced spellbook). This is also clarified in the FAQ referred to above.

Less clear: each level you can retrain one aspect of your character - swap out a skill for another, swap a feat for another, swap a power for another of the same level.
Do wizards get to change two spells, for others of the same level?
My inclination is no. This retraining rule is for tweaking a character, to remove feats, skills, or powers you haven't used much for another you think will be more relevant or useful. So, you only need to be able to change one spell from the pair or trio chosen for this feature to still work as intended.
It won't break anything to allow the pair or trio to be swapped, though, if others preferred a different interpretation.
 

Remove ads

Top