Official D&D Sage Advice Compendium Updated

Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium. New things: [NEW] Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature...
Sorry if someone already posted this, but yesterday the Sage Advice Compendium got updated: http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/sage-advice/sage-advice-compendium.

New things:

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a dragonborn sorcerer with a draconic bloodline have two different kinds of Draconic Ancestry? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A dragonborn sorcerer can choose a different ancestor for the racial trait and for the Dragon Ancestor feature. Your choice for the racial trait is your actual ancestor, while the choice for the class feature could be your ancestor figuratively—the type of dragon that bestowed magic upon you or your family or the kind of draconic artifact or location that filled you with magical energy.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Do the benefits from Bardic Inspiration and the [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell stack? Can they be applied to the same roll? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes, different effects stack if they don’t have the same name. If a creature makes an ability check while it is under the effect of a [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]guidance [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell and also has a Bardic Inspiration die, it can roll both a d4 and a d6 if it so chooses.

[NEW]
[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is the intent that a bard gets to know the number rolled on an attack roll or ability check before using Cutting Words, or should they always guess? If used on a damage roll, does Cutting Words apply to any kind of damage roll including an auto-hit spell like [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]
You can wait to use Cutting Words after the roll, but you must commit to doing so before you know for sure whether the total of the roll or check is a success or a failure. You can use Cutting Words to reduce the damage from any effect that calls for a damage roll (including [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]magic missile[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]) even if the damage roll is not preceded by an attack roll.


[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does the fighter’s Action Surge feature let you take an extra bonus action, in addition to an extra action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Action Surge gives you an extra action, not an extra bonus action. (Recent printings of the [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Player’s Handbook [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]no longer include the wording that provoked this question.)




[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a bound and gagged druid simply use Wild Shape to get out? It’s hard to capture someone who can turn into a mouse at will. [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Transforming into a different size can be an effective way of escaping, depending on the nature of the bonds or confinement. All things considered, someone trying to keep a druid captive might be wise to stash the prisoner in a room with an opening only large enough for air to enter.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can a monk use Stunning Strike with an unarmed strike, even though unarmed strikes aren’t weapons? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. Stunning Strike works with melee weapon attacks, and an unarmed strike is a special type of melee weapon attack. The game often makes exceptions to general rules, and this is an important exception: that unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks despite not being weapons.


[NEW]


[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Can the rogue’s Reliable Talent feature be used in conjunction with Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. Each of these features has a precondition for its use; Reliable Talent activates when you make an ability check that uses your proficiency bonus, whereas the other two features activate when you make an ability check that doesn’t use your proficiency bonus. In other words, a check that qualifies for Reliable Talent doesn’t qualify for Remarkable Athlete or Jack of All Trades. And Remarkable Athlete and Jack of All Trades don’t work with each other, since you can add your proficiency bonus, or any portion thereof, only once to a roll.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The Shield Master feat lets you shove someone as a bonus action if you take the Attack action. Can you take that bonus action before the Attack action? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]No. The bonus action provided by the Shield Master feat has a precondition: that you take the Attack action on your turn. Intending to take that action isn’t sufficient; you must actually take it before you can take the bonus action. During your turn, you do get to decide when to take the bonus action after you’ve taken the Attack action. This sort of if-then setup appears in many of the game’s rules. The "if" must be satisfied before the "then" comes into play.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Is there a hard limit on how many short rests characters can take in a day, or is this purely up to the DM to decide? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The only hard limit on the number of short rests you can take is the number of hours in a day. In practice, you’re also limited by time pressures in the story and foes interrupting.

[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]If the damage from [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]reduces a half-orc to 0 hit points, can Relentless Endurance prevent the orc from turning to ash? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Yes. The [FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]spell turns you into dust only if the spell’s damage leaves you with 0 hit points. If you’re a half-orc, Relentless Endurance can turn the 0 into a 1 before the spell can disintegrate you.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What happens if a druid using Wild Shape is reduced to 0 hit points by [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]disintegrate[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]? Does the druid simply leave beast form? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]The druid leaves beast form. As usual, any leftover damage then applies to the druid’s normal hit points. If the leftover damage leaves the druid with 0 hit points, the druid is disintegrated.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Using 5-foot squares, does [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]affect a single square? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Cloud of daggers [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT](5 ft. cube) can affect more than one square on a grid, unless the DM says effects snap to the grid. There are many ways to position that cube.




[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]What actions can monsters use to make opportunity attacks? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]A monster follows the normal opportunity attack rules ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]PH[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 195), which specify that an attack of opportunity is one melee attack. That means a monster must choose a single melee attack to make, either an attack in its stat block or a generic attack, like an unarmed strike. Multiattack doesn’t qualify, not only because it’s more than one attack, but also because the rule on Multiattack ([FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]MM[/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT], 11) states that this action can’t be used for opportunity attacks. An action, such as a breath weapon, that doesn’t include an attack roll is also not eligible.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]The [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]stinking cloud [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]spell says that a creature wastes its action on a failed save. So can it still use a move or a bonus action or a reaction? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Correct. The gas doesn’t immobilize a creature or prevent it from acting altogether, but the effect of the spell does limit what it can accomplish while the cloud lingers.



[NEW]

[FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania]Does a creature with Magic Resistance have advantage on saving throws against Channel Divinity abilities, such as Turn the Faithless? [/FONT][/FONT][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][FONT=Bookmania,Bookmania][/FONT][/FONT]Channel Divinity creates magical effects (as stated in both the cleric and the paladin). Magic Resistance applies.





I wish the reply on stinking cloud had been more precise - since losing action loses you your bonus action too. Movement and reactions are fine but *technically* spending your action stretching is not the same as losing your action or cannot take action so this reply means...

Inside stinking cloud with failed save, I can still use bonus action abilities and spells that are otherwise legal.

If that's the actual intent, fine, but it seems off.
 

I don't disagree with you, but I think "how best to interpret them," in the case of an ambiguous rule, is in the way that most closely resembles what the player actually wants, provided it isn't overpowered.

I don't think that's a valid consideration when it comes to interpreting rules. It's a great consideration to make a ruling to play that way though
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Um.. it looks like he is to me...since I wrote Shield Punch.

Didn't I specify TWF with sword/shield???

And you can use the shield as an improvised weapon without losing the +2 AC bonus.

Did you read my post, by the way? ;)

Trying to justify your position with even more controversial rulings isn't a wise thing to do. Now we are going to spend another 70+ pages arguing about those controversial rules :(

Hand crossbows were eventually ruled to require a hand to load them despite the rules not originally stating so. They did this because you have to be able to load the bow to fire it.

Consider this: Suppose a PC keeps his shield raised above his head and not deflecting any blows with it during a fight as a matter of honor to show that he doesn't need the shield to defeat said opponent. Does he gain the +2 Bonus to AC? I would say no. So a character can have a shield equipped and not gain the AC bonus IMO. Does attacking with the shield cause that to happen. That to me is the DM's decision. One logical decision is that attacking with the shield means you aren't defending with it and so it essentially is the same as holding it above your head.

So I don't think you've provided a good example of what you are saying.

By the way, speaking of this, if you can just bonus action with the shield constantly then why even bother with shield master? The obvious answer is that they didn't write the rules with the expectation that TWF would work with shields in any way that would provide the AC bonus, the dueling bonus and the TWF bonus.
 

Trying to justify your position with even more controversial rulings isn't a wise thing to do. Now we are going to spend another 70+ pages arguing about those controversial rules :(

Hand crossbows were eventually ruled to require a hand to load them despite the rules not originally stating so. They did this because you have to be able to load the bow to fire it.

Consider this: Suppose a PC keeps his shield raised above his head and not deflecting any blows with it during a fight as a matter of honor to show that he doesn't need the shield to defeat said opponent. Does he gain the +2 Bonus to AC? I would say no. So a character can have a shield equipped and not gain the AC bonus IMO. Does attacking with the shield cause that to happen. That to me is the DM's decision. One logical decision is that attacking with the shield means you aren't defending with it and so it essentially is the same as holding it above your head.

So I don't think you've provided a good example of what you are saying.

By the way, speaking of this, if you can just bonus action with the shield constantly then why even bother with shield master? The obvious answer is that they didn't write the rules with the expectation that TWF would work with shields in any way that would provide the AC bonus, the dueling bonus and the TWF bonus.

TWF and dueling are mutually exclusive, but there's no reason I'm aware of to think you can't use a shield as a defense and as an improvised weapon at the same time. It is a thing that was done, historically speaking.
 

Trying to justify your position with even more controversial rulings isn't a wise thing to do. Now we are going to spend another 70+ pages arguing about those controversial rules :(

Hand crossbows were eventually ruled to require a hand to load them despite the rules not originally stating so. They did this because you have to be able to load the bow to fire it.

Consider this: Suppose a PC keeps his shield raised above his head and not deflecting any blows with it during a fight as a matter of honor to show that he doesn't need the shield to defeat said opponent. Does he gain the +2 Bonus to AC? I would say no. So a character can have a shield equipped and not gain the AC bonus IMO. Does attacking with the shield cause that to happen. That to me is the DM's decision. One logical decision is that attacking with the shield means you aren't defending with it and so it essentially is the same as holding it above your head.

So I don't think you've provided a good example of what you are saying.

By the way, speaking of this, if you can just bonus action with the shield constantly then why even bother with shield master? The obvious answer is that they didn't write the rules with the expectation that TWF would work with shields in any way that would provide the AC bonus, the dueling bonus and the TWF bonus.

I get all that, but the SA ruling at least is you keep the +2 AC bonus. One of the previous players in our group found it because he was attacking with his warhammer and shield punching every round using the TWF-style and Dual Wielder feat. For anyone reading this, in case you haven't read it:

If you attack with a shield—most likely as an improvised weapon—do you keep the +2 bonus to AC?
Attacking with a shield doesn’t deprive you of the shield’s bonus to AC.

As a DM you can rule it otherwise of course, but I believe that is the "official" ruling.

And that was my point entirely! Ruling Shield Master the way it currently is does make it "why even bother with shield master?" Granted, of course Shield Master has other benefits, but if you primary concern is shoving--it is not the way to go... more's the pity.
 

I am not saying the feat is otherwise worthless, but it makes that feature practically so since you can gain the shove capability better through different methods.

I don't agree with you that it's a practically worthless feature as JC is ruling it. A free shove is great, even if it comes at the end of the Attack action. It just means that you are setting the enemy up to be mauled by other party members that come after you, making it more of a tactical feat ability than a personal "I'm bad ass." feat ability. Or cutting down the enemy's mobility. That may not be as satisfying to some people, but tactical advantage is still a huge bonus when used properly.
 

LOL of course there are! Have you read this thread? Hmm...? *confuse

TWF with sword/shield using Dual Wielder can:

Shove (attack), Sword (attack), Shield punch (bonus TWF)
Sword (attack), Shove (attack), Shield punch (bonus TWF)
Sword (attack), Shield punch (bonus TWF), Shove (attack)

He can shove at any point during his turn. Shield Master can only shove at the end.

The shove is free for the Shield Master. What's more, he gets to use his full ability modifier to both of his attacks, where the two-weapon fighter cannot add his, unless it's a penalty, to his off hand swing. That's a pretty nice bonus for the Shield Master, since this edition is about damage dealing. Also, advantage is nice, but it's pretty easy to hit most things without using it.

Lastly, ditch the two-weapon fighter and go with a Great Weapon Master.

Shove, attack at -5 with advantage and +10 damage, BAM! ;)
 

Um.. it looks like he is to me...since I wrote Shield Punch.

Didn't I specify TWF with sword/shield???

And you can use the shield as an improvised weapon without losing the +2 AC bonus.

Did you read my post, by the way? ;)

I noticed that, but does a shield count as a light melee weapon?
 

I don't agree with you that it's a practically worthless feature as JC is ruling it. A free shove is great, even if it comes at the end of the Attack action. It just means that you are setting the enemy up to be mauled by other party members that come after you, making it more of a tactical feat ability than a personal "I'm bad ass." feat ability. Or cutting down the enemy's mobility. That may not be as satisfying to some people, but tactical advantage is still a huge bonus when used properly.

Well, it isn't free. It still costs you your Bonus action, same as TWF does. It is still useful even as currently ruled. Earlier someone pointed out how great it could be used defensively. So, I don't have much of a problem with it as is except its use to shove an opponent down and attack is overshadowed by TWF with Dual Wielder.

The shove is free for the Shield Master. What's more, he gets to use his full ability modifier to both of his attacks, where the two-weapon fighter cannot add his, unless it's a penalty, to his off hand swing. That's a pretty nice bonus for the Shield Master, since this edition is about damage dealing. Also, advantage is nice, but it's pretty easy to hit most things without using it.

Lastly, ditch the two-weapon fighter and go with a Great Weapon Master.

Shove, attack at -5 with advantage and +10 damage, BAM! ;)

As said, it isn't free. If it was free like Horde Breaker that would be awesome. He does get to use full abilities with both attacks, but so does the TWF guy with TWF-style. We, literally, had a dwarf warhammer/shield guy built this way with TWF-style and Dual Wielder, whacking with the warhammer and shield every round. It was impressive even without him shoving...

I noticed that, but does a shield count as a light melee weapon?

No, which is why, at the very least, you need the Dual Wielder feat. TWF-style isn't necessary, but allows for full ability score bonus with the bonus attack from TWF.
 

Well, it isn't free. It still costs you your Bonus action, same as TWF does. It is still useful even as currently ruled. Earlier someone pointed out how great it could be used defensively. So, I don't have much of a problem with it as is except its use to shove an opponent down and attack is overshadowed by TWF with Dual Wielder.

Okay. Free was the wrong word. :p

As said, it isn't free. If it was free like Horde Breaker that would be awesome. He does get to use full abilities with both attacks, but so does the TWF guy with TWF-style. We, literally, had a dwarf warhammer/shield guy built this way with TWF-style and Dual Wielder, whacking with the warhammer and shield every round. It was impressive even without him shoving...

That sounds really interesting. I may steal that to use some day.
 

I get all that, but the SA ruling at least is you keep the +2 AC bonus. One of the previous players in our group found it because he was attacking with his warhammer and shield punching every round using the TWF-style and Dual Wielder feat. For anyone reading this, in case you haven't read it:

If you attack with a shield—most likely as an improvised weapon—do you keep the +2 bonus to AC?
Attacking with a shield doesn’t deprive you of the shield’s bonus to AC.

As a DM you can rule it otherwise of course, but I believe that is the "official" ruling.

And that was my point entirely! Ruling Shield Master the way it currently is does make it "why even bother with shield master?" Granted, of course Shield Master has other benefits, but if you primary concern is shoving--it is not the way to go... more's the pity.

When we are in a thread that disagrees with official rulings then citing another official ruling that people will disagree with isn't wise.

Shield Master serves as the best option to shove for a shield using character. Mentioning controversial TWF shield shenanigans doesn't change that.
 

Remove ads

Remove ads

Top