Oversized weapons grant reach?

two

First Post
If my medium-sized character uses a large greataxe, for example, does it have 10' or 5' reach?

I know about the -2 to hit; it know it's a suboptimal choice to make, etc.

I just don't know the rules. I can't find them in the SRD.

Is no reach granted? What if you use an ever bigger greataxe, like bigger than large (which is, what? huge?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Unless the weapon is a reach weapon (called out in the rules for that weapon specifically) it doesn't grant reach. Size has nothing to do with it, although weapons that grant reach are usually large. But the reason why they grant reach isn't because they're large, but because they're designed to allow you to strike at range, which a Large greataxe isn't.
 


two said:
If my medium-sized character uses a large greataxe, for example, does it have 10' or 5' reach?

I know about the -2 to hit; it know it's a suboptimal choice to make, etc.

I just don't know the rules. I can't find them in the SRD.

Is no reach granted? What if you use an ever bigger greataxe, like bigger than large (which is, what? huge?)

Reach is granted to a creature that is large (IE, their unarmed attacks have reach), or a creature using a reach weapon. A large weapon is definately not a large creature, and if it is not normaly a reach weapon, it then would not grant reach.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top