Partial charging

Trellian

Explorer
you can draw your weapon when combined with a movement action, right. But what about a partial charge? Is that a movement action or an attack action? So in the first round, can a character without weapon draw his sword and partial charge?

BTW, we're playing with the optional rule that only partial actions are allowed the first round of combat.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Partial charage is a special action that includes movement and an attack.

I would allow it. The wizard can cast a spell, why couldn't I run up and swip at them?
 

I would rule "no". The language on PHB p. 128 is that drawing a weapon can be combined with a "regular move", which is not what a partial charge is.
 

dcollins said:
I would rule "no". The language on PHB p. 128 is that drawing a weapon can be combined with a "regular move", which is not what a partial charge is.

I'd rule "yes." I think that "regular move" not counted as the move combined with a charge (or partial charge) is a bit hyper-technical.
 

Artoomis said:


I'd rule "yes." I think that "regular move" not counted as the move combined with a charge (or partial charge) is a bit hyper-technical.

But probably technically correct. Allowing a weapon draw on a charge might fall into house rules, but not a bad one.
 

LokiDR said:


But probably technically correct. Allowing a weapon draw on a charge might fall into house rules, but not a bad one.

Actually, I am not sure the term "normal move" is ever defined as being distinct from movement part of "The character must move before attacking, not after. The character must move at least 10 feet ..."

It is not a house rule to allow drawing a weapon during a charge. You could go either way.

You could define a "normal move" as being different from the moving you do during a charge, or not. Either way is within the rules.
 

Artoomis, you have a point. But I think that "normal move" is a pretty clear reference to the move you get if you only take a single attack. You should not be able to draw during a 5' movement of a full attack.

I am not sure it is house rule, but it isn't a bad rule to make either way.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top