Paying the cost

Scharlata

First Post
Hello!

I'm new to the boards and hope someone can guide me to the way of enlightenment :)

I wonder if a spellcaster has to pay the sacrifice cost of a sanctified spell [see Book of Exalted Deeds] if the spell failed and/or was wasted.

According to the rules of spell failure (PHB 171), a spell fails and is wasted, "if you ever try to cast a spell in conditions where the characteristics of the spell cannot be made to conform". The description of sanctified magic (BoED 83) [and corrupt] spells tells me that "the sacrifice occurs when the spell's duration expires".

If in the process of spellcasting the spell fails because a character tried to cast Luminous Armor (BoED 102) on a nongood target, is there a duration to expire for the sacrifice to take place or is the spell wasted and no sacrifice occurs?

The description of Material components (PHB 174) suggests that a material component is "annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process". The text about sanctified spells (BoED 83) suggests that a sanctified spell "usually has no material components". So this information don't help me either deciding if a cleric (or other eligible spellcaster) has to suffer the consequences of casting a sanctified or corrupt spell if the spell has not happend in the first place.

Eagerly awaiting an answer...

Kind regards, Scharlata
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, I can't help you directly, but, if it helps, in general most abilities, etc. are used up in simply making the attempt, whether successful or not.

Given that, that's the way I'd run it unless there was clear evidence to the contrary
 

For a sanctified spell extra costs, i would rule that the powers of good are not going to charge you for something you never got if you were using it properly. Thats not thier typical M.O.

Please note I am not so sure that your initial example falls into proper use.
 
Last edited:

Money for nothing

Artoomis said:
Well, I can't help you directly, but, if it helps, in general most abilities, etc. are used up in simply making the attempt, whether successful or not.

Given that, that's the way I'd run it unless there was clear evidence to the contrary

Well, my DM ruled it as you put it. But as a DM I would say that you don't have to pay for nothing.

I would like to read more about that topic, if anyone needs to be compelled to write..... :)
 

A duration that never starts cannot end. Thus if a Sanctified spell fails due to trying to aim at an invalid target, getting disrupted by a sword through the belly, or whatever, then sacrifice cost should not have to be paid.
 

I have to agree, you dont have to pay the sacrifice cost. That cost happens when the duration ends, it does not happen at the beginning of the spell. Therefore, if the spell never occured then you dont pay that cost.
 

OK, this convinces me to handle it as a "no pay option" in my campaign, but I think I've got to take the "pay-you-fool option" at the other gaming table :D

Thanx alot, Scharlata
 

Remove ads

Top