Phasing Strike

kmdietri

Explorer
I'm dealing with the Purple Dragon's ability Phasing strike.

Essentially the dragon gets a pushing attack that grants the target phasing for the push.

Could the dragon push the target into a solid object. Are there rules as to what happens to someone who loses phasing while in a solid object? Do they just move back to their last legel square? Do they take damage?

I read through ealier discussion about if phasing creatures can end their movement in solid objects but I didn't see an answer.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

That's because it's contained within the rules text for phasing:

Monster Manual 2 said:
Phasing

While phasing, a creature ignores difficult terrain and can move through obstacles and other creatures, but it must end its movement in an unoccupied space.

A square with a wall or other obstacle in it is not an unoccupied space, so no pushing people inside walls.
 


The rules for forced movement say under 'clear path' that the target can only be pushed into a square they could walk into, but while phasing they can walk into any square.

It says you need line of effect to each square that you move them into but you should at least have line of effect to the first square of wall, as you can attack the first square of wall.
 

Check:

Can a player with phasing walk into a wall?

Yes. So the push satisfies that.

Can the dragon have line of effect into the first square of wall?

No, the dragon has no line from any of his corners that do not touch the wall.

Therefore, forced movement into the wall is not legal.
 

Remove ads

Top