Hypersmurf
Moderatarrrrh...
evilbob said:I have to say that Hyper's argument is the way I started to lean when I re-read the crit rules again. Normally all "extra dice" are -not- multiplied for crits, so this seems to be the closest "rule" to what this is.
I'd prefer to use the unarmed strike analogy than the extra dice analogy, though.
For example, let's say we have someone somehow channeling a Harm spell. This deals 10 points of damage per caster level - it is not expressed as dice, so if we consider it bonus damage to the weapon attack, it would be multiplied on a critical. But if it were delivered via an unarmed strike, it would not be.
Also, let's say we deliver a Shocking Grasp via channelling, dealing 1d8+5, say. Is the +5 considered bonus dice? If not, it should be multiplied, while the 1d8 is not.
There's a definite possibility for a semantic difference between 'variable numeric effects' (which would cover the entire 1d8+5, no problem), and 'bonus dice' (which could be argued to only cover the 1d8...).
-Hyp.