Possibly..err...probably..a stupid question


log in or register to remove this ad

MindWanderer said:
Good idea--although the only way to get one monster with 4 recharge powers seems to be to slap 2 templates with recharge powers on a monster that already has 2.

Hmm Hobgoblin Warcaster has 3 recharge powers: Shock Staff, Force Lure and Force Pulse. I see no reason why solo monsters couldn't have 4.
 

Prodigal_Sun said:
Well it adds some flexibility in monster design to use the full array. As someone pointed out in another thread maybe in the MM there are monster who recharge power A on a 1 or 2, power B on a 3 or 4 and power C on a 5 or 6. I can see this happen for chaotic monsters

To paraphrase Hong..

What?
 

Prodigal_Sun said:
Well it adds some flexibility in monster design to use the full array. As someone pointed out in another thread maybe in the MM there are monster who recharge power A on a 1 or 2, power B on a 3 or 4 and power C on a 5 or 6. I can see this happen for chaotic monsters
Except that Mouseferatu already clarified that this isn't the case.

There is definitely some house-ruling potential here, though. If you want to make a monster more 'swingy' roll only once for all abilities (i.e. on a :6: all of the recharge at the same time). If you want it to become more predictable make only one roll but only allow a single recharge per round or mabe even skip rolling altogether and choose when they recharge.
 



I'm pretty sure that the recharge die is rolled once per creature per round, not once per power for that creature every round. That's why it is "3" for one power and "1", "3", "5" for another and "4", "5", "6" for another.

I'm sure I read it somewhere, but now I can't find the reference. I'll post the reference when I find it unless someone beats me to it.

Of course, I could have read someone's incorrect speculation regarding the rule...
 
Last edited:

Micco said:
I'm pretty sure that the recharge die is rolled once per creature per round, not once per power for that creature every round. That's why it is "3" for one power and "1", "3", "5" for another and "4", "5", "6" for another.

I'm sure I read it somewhere, but now I can't find the reference. I'll post the reference when I find it unless someone beats me to it.

Of course, I could have read someone's incorrect speculation regarding the rule...
It was a speculation in one for the early threads on new monsters and Necromancer Games plans for new monsters. But that's what it was - speculation. As our rodent of the night says, that's now how recharge works.
 

Remove ads

Top