Pounce

mcgeedis

First Post
Per the SRD:

Pounce
When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability.

If I charge as a leopard with Mulitattack, (Full Attack: Bite +8 melee (1d6+3) and 2 claws +6 melee (1d3+1)), do I get to attack as follows?

Bite - +8
Claw 1 - +6
Claw 2 - +6
Rake 1 - +6
Rake 2 - +6
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Unless you have advanced the leopard, no.
I am assuming you replaced Alertness with Multiattack.
The Leopard has BAB +2, Weapon Finesse, and Dex +4 for +6/+4 attacks with Multiattack.

So it would be: (and +2 for the charge to all)
+6 Bite (1d6+3)
+4 Claw (1d3+1)
+4 Claw (1d3+1)
+6 Rake (1d3+1)
+6 Rake (1d3+1)

The rakes use the full BAB.

Ciao
Dave
 

ElectricDragon said:
Unless you have advanced the leopard, no.
I am assuming you replaced Alertness with Multiattack.
The Leopard has BAB +2, Weapon Finesse, and Dex +4 for +6/+4 attacks with Multiattack.


Actually, this would be my Druid while in Leopard form. He will have the Multiattack feat. Also, would bonuses to Strength increase the Rake damage? For instance, would a Bull's Strength add an additional +1 point to the damage (Strength modifier of +5, divided by 2 rounded down)? What about Magic Fang on the Claws? Would that also add an additional +1 to the Rake damage?
 

ElectricDragon said:
Unless you have advanced the leopard, no.
I am assuming you replaced Alertness with Multiattack.
The Leopard has BAB +2, Weapon Finesse, and Dex +4 for +6/+4 attacks with Multiattack.

So it would be: (and +2 for the charge to all)
+6 Bite (1d6+3)
+4 Claw (1d3+1)
+4 Claw (1d3+1)
+6 Rake (1d3+1)
+6 Rake (1d3+1)

The rakes use the full BAB.

Ciao
Dave

How do you get 2 (BAB) + 4 (Weapon Finesse) + 2 (Charge) = 6? Since bite is a primary attack for leopards, it takes no penalty; it should be +8. Similarly, 2 (BAB) + 4 (Weapon Finesse) + 2 (Charge) - 2 (Multiattack; would otherwise be -5) yields +6 to hit for claws.

You're correct that rake uses the full BAB, though... which puts it at +8.
 

mcgeedis said:
Also, would bonuses to Strength increase the Rake damage? For instance, would a Bull's Strength add an additional +1 point to the damage (Strength modifier of +5, divided by 2 rounded down)? What about Magic Fang on the Claws? Would that also add an additional +1 to the Rake damage?

Yes and yes.
 

mcgeedis said:
Per the SRD:

Pounce
When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can follow with a full attack—including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability.

If I charge as a leopard with Mulitattack, (Full Attack: Bite +8 melee (1d6+3) and 2 claws +6 melee (1d3+1)), do I get to attack as follows?

Bite - +8
Claw 1 - +6
Claw 2 - +6
Rake 1 - +6
Rake 2 - +6

SRD entry for leopard

Multiattack reduces the secondary attack penalty from -5 to -2.

So wouldnt that be ...
Bite - +6 (+2 charge) = +8
Claw 1 - +1 (effectively +3 from mutliattack) (+2 charge) = +6
Claw 2 - +1 (effectively +3 from mutliattack) (+2 charge) = +6
Rake 1 - +6 (+2 charge) = + 8
Rake 2 - +6 (+2 charge) = + 8

Edit: i guess you only get the +2 to charge from the bite attack, right?
so would be +8 +6 +6 +6 +6., Nurrrr
 
Last edited:

Remember, you get to follow a charge with a full-attack.

Strictly speaking, that gives you a bite on the charge (since charge, by itself, includes a single attack) followed up by your entire full-attack routine.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Remember, you get to follow a charge with a full-attack.

Strictly speaking, that gives you a bite on the charge (since charge, by itself, includes a single attack) followed up by your entire full-attack routine.

Unless you subscribe to the interpretation that the full attack routine replaces the single attack that normally occurs as the final part of the charge action.
 


Speaking of Pounce... I just ran into this little question... and seeing a thread with Pounce as subject, I just post it here... :)

When a creature with the Pounce ability can only take a standard or move action (i.e. slowed) and makes a charge (only moving up to its speed, not twice as far, as per the charge special attack rules)... can it use the Pounce ability in order to make a full attack!?

I couldn't find anything to the contrary...

EDIT: Also, what happens, if the creature also has Improved Grab and Rake and manages to succeed on the Improved Grab grapple and thus can rake... does it get two additional Rake attacks then (after already performing two from Pounce before the Grapple)?

Bye
Thanee
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top