Powers that Force Move, Granting BA

For powers like, Staggering Note and Blunder, does one have to move the target in order for the ally to receive the BA? I'm thinking no, partially because (flavor wise) you can actually move an enemy without them leaving a square (for example, moving them 2 ft- I've staggered and blundered shorter distances myself :).
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

DDI Compendium said:
Distance in Squares: The power you’re using specifies how many squares you can move a target. You can choose to move the target fewer squares or not to move it at all.
So for Staggering Note, you can choose to push the target 0 squares, and your ally still gets an MBA. Same deal for Blunder's slide.
 

You are not required to use the movement granted by powers.

Forced Movement said:
Distance in Squares: The power you’re using specifies how many squares you can move a target. You can choose to move the target fewer squares or not to move it at all. You can’t move the target vertically.

Ninjas!!!

Flavour has nothing to do with it.
 
Last edited:

Yeah, I know I don't have to move it. Also, I just got into a big discussion if you actually have to move a space to gain the use of a benefit attached to teleporting power, and most people said, yes, so i thought maybe powers like the above are the same way. Ultimately though, I am more concerned with if the op is cheesy or not to do?
 

Yeah, I know I don't have to move it. Also, I just got into a big discussion if you actually have to move a space to gain the use of a benefit attached to teleporting power, and most people said, yes, so i thought maybe powers like the above are the same way. Ultimately though, I am more concerned with if the op is cheesy or not to do?

Your first post in that thread never mentioned a power, only asked if Teleporting 0 squared was still teleporting... which since teleporting has it's own special series of rules, people disagreed.

Here, the forced movement and the free basic attack are both products of the hit effect, so no problem.
 

I believed you on the rule and teleporting, and that my hypothetical was a cheesy thing to do. I was just wondering if using Staggering Note and Blunder is cheesy thing to to do if you don't move the target, even though you don't have to move it by the RAW.
 
Last edited:





Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top