Mistwell
Crusty Old Meatwad
Assume a 10th level Wizard enters the prestige class Wild Mage, which comes with the ability Wild Magic:
"A wild mage casts spells differently from any other arcane spellcaster. She reduces her caster level by 3 for spells she casts from now on. However, every time she casts a spell, her use of wild magic adds 1d6 to her adjusted caster level."
This spellcaster also takes the Practiced Spellcaster feat, which says:
"Your caster level for the chosen spellcasting class increases by 4. This benefit can't increase your caster level to higher than your hit dice."
What is their caster level now?
I can see three ways for it to go:
1) 7th level + 1d6, as the Practiced Spellcaster feat has no impact on this analysis;
2) 7th level + 1d6, but not less than 10th level. Practiced Spellcaster will make up the difference between 7th level and 10th level, but only after the 1d6 is rolled.
3) 10th level +1d6, as Practiced Spellcaster makes up the difference between 7th level and 10th level as soon as it is applicable from becoming a Wild Mage.
I'd like to know what people's opinions are from a purely Rules As Written perspective AND from a House Rule balance perspective.
In my opinion, the RAW would have it work like #3. She reduces her caster level by three, which activates Practiced Spellcaster to increase it by up to four (but not more than her hit dice). She then adds a 1d6 to her caster level every time she casts a spell.
From a balance perspective I am unsure. I might go with #2 as a middle ground. I would not go with #1 as I think the Practiced Spellcaster feat should help the caster in this situation at least somewhat. I am not so convinced #3 is unbalanced, since having a caster level increase of 1-6 isn't all that powerful anymore in 3.5, as caster level seems to have a lot less importance in 3.5 than it did in 3.0.
"A wild mage casts spells differently from any other arcane spellcaster. She reduces her caster level by 3 for spells she casts from now on. However, every time she casts a spell, her use of wild magic adds 1d6 to her adjusted caster level."
This spellcaster also takes the Practiced Spellcaster feat, which says:
"Your caster level for the chosen spellcasting class increases by 4. This benefit can't increase your caster level to higher than your hit dice."
What is their caster level now?
I can see three ways for it to go:
1) 7th level + 1d6, as the Practiced Spellcaster feat has no impact on this analysis;
2) 7th level + 1d6, but not less than 10th level. Practiced Spellcaster will make up the difference between 7th level and 10th level, but only after the 1d6 is rolled.
3) 10th level +1d6, as Practiced Spellcaster makes up the difference between 7th level and 10th level as soon as it is applicable from becoming a Wild Mage.
I'd like to know what people's opinions are from a purely Rules As Written perspective AND from a House Rule balance perspective.
In my opinion, the RAW would have it work like #3. She reduces her caster level by three, which activates Practiced Spellcaster to increase it by up to four (but not more than her hit dice). She then adds a 1d6 to her caster level every time she casts a spell.
From a balance perspective I am unsure. I might go with #2 as a middle ground. I would not go with #1 as I think the Practiced Spellcaster feat should help the caster in this situation at least somewhat. I am not so convinced #3 is unbalanced, since having a caster level increase of 1-6 isn't all that powerful anymore in 3.5, as caster level seems to have a lot less importance in 3.5 than it did in 3.0.