Prayer Spell Question?

According to the definition of a burst, a character would get to choose the center of the burst anywhere within the range of the spell. The spell description contradicts itself. It gives a "Range" of 30 feet, and then says the burst is centered on the caster. For it to work the way I thought it did, the Range would have to be zero, and the area would be a 30' radius burst.
This is flat wrong!

No part of a spell's effect may extend outside its range. See PHB p148, or this SRD page. "If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond the range, that area is wasted."

If Prayer had a range of 0, then it would affect only the caster. Even if it still specified a 30' radius burst, the whole burst area would lie outside the range and would therefore be wasted.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

AuraSeer said:

This is flat wrong!

No part of a spell's effect may extend outside its range. See PHB p148, or this SRD page. "If any portion of the spell's area would extend beyond the range, that area is wasted."

If Prayer had a range of 0, then it would affect only the caster. Even if it still specified a 30' radius burst, the whole burst area would lie outside the range and would therefore be wasted.

I happen to agree with you on this one after reading the SRD. I think that I will just house rule it anyway... I like the feel of it better...

Say, AuraSeer, how about tackling this one...

http://enworld.cyberstreet.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=29163

Aluvial
 


Remove ads

Top