I apologize in advance if this has been brought up before, but I can't find any references to this, so here goes.
Let's take a PrC that grants a +1 level to existing spellcasting class at only a few of the levels (Acolyte of the Skin from the Complete Arcane that grants it for 5 out of 10 levels for instance). Let's say that a wizard takes the PrC all the way to level 10 while advancing to a 20th level character (Wiz 10, AotC 10). At this point, he casts spells as a 15th level wizard. For his 21st character level, he takes another wizard level. Does he then cast as a 16th level wizard, or did he permanently give up the opportunity to advance as normal in his spellcasting abilities?
I couldn't find anything from the rules, but I've been known to miss things from time to time. If there are no rules, any ideas on what should be the case? Thanks.
Let's take a PrC that grants a +1 level to existing spellcasting class at only a few of the levels (Acolyte of the Skin from the Complete Arcane that grants it for 5 out of 10 levels for instance). Let's say that a wizard takes the PrC all the way to level 10 while advancing to a 20th level character (Wiz 10, AotC 10). At this point, he casts spells as a 15th level wizard. For his 21st character level, he takes another wizard level. Does he then cast as a 16th level wizard, or did he permanently give up the opportunity to advance as normal in his spellcasting abilities?
I couldn't find anything from the rules, but I've been known to miss things from time to time. If there are no rules, any ideas on what should be the case? Thanks.