Prove your knowledge about D&D

Tess'har

First Post
Don’t flame me, take it as a quizgame…

If using a bow or another ranged weapon and facing an adjacent foe, you can, on your turn, move 5 feet from the enemy without taking an AOO against you, then take a full attack action and when the enemy again moves a 5 foot step toward you also get no AOO against him; am I right?

If attacking an helpless defender you get a +4 circumstance bonus. Additionally the defender is treated as if his Dexterity were 0 so that you, at least, get another +5 bonus to your attack; am I right?

If you make an attack of opportunity but don’t want to strike with the weapon in hand, can you draw another weapon and make the AOO with this one (if you actually got the draw weapon feat)?

Does any character can use wands, rods and staffs or does you still have to have at least 1 level in an arcane or divine spellcasting class to use those items? (I’ve found no one sentence in the DMG that restrict the use of this items to only some classes)

Can prone, medium sized characters attack with large weapons?

How do you handle ranged disarm attempts?

I just wondered
;) quizgame
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If using a bow or another ranged weapon and facing an adjacent foe, you can, on your turn, move 5 feet from the enemy without taking an AOO against you, then take a full attack action and when the enemy again moves a 5 foot step toward you also get no AOO against him; am I right?

quite right. 5-foot step, never provokes an AoO. howver, if the opponent has reach, you're still in trouble. and no, you still wouldn't be able to take an AoO even if the opponent moved more than 5 feet because you don't threaten anywhere with a ranged weapon.

If attacking an helpless defender you get a +4 circumstance bonus. Additionally the defender is treated as if his Dexterity were 0 so that you, at least, get another +5 bonus to your attack; am I right?

likely, but you're assuming that most characters won't have a DEX below 10

If you make an attack of opportunity but don’t want to strike with the weapon in hand, can you draw another weapon and make the AOO with this one (if you actually got the draw weapon feat)?

i don't agree. i don't have any specific rules to back it up right now, but as a GM, i wouldn't allow it. if you're not ready to take you AoO you miss it. besides, would you drop the weapon in your hand? switch it to the other hand first? or just make an offhand attack, likely at ridiculous penaties? any of these options i think would take too damn long.

Does any character can use wands, rods and staffs or does you still have to have at least 1 level in an arcane or divine spellcasting class to use those items? (I’ve found no one sentence in the DMG that restrict the use of this items to only some classes)

without the Use MAgic Device skill, you must have at least one level in the required spell casting class, i.e. divine or arcane (or more if you use the variant MC bard and/or sorceror). and the spell must be on your spell list (i think).

Can prone, medium sized characters attack with large weapons?

there's already a -4 penalty to doing it, but i can see an addtional penalty being applied if you aren't able to use both hands. otherwise, i don't see why not.

How do you handle ranged disarm attempts?

just like regular ones, without the AoO.

that help?

~NegZ
 

If using a bow or another ranged weapon and facing an adjacent foe, you can, on your turn, move 5 feet from the enemy without taking an AOO against you, then take a full attack action and when the enemy again moves a 5 foot step toward you also get no AOO against him; am I right? Right

If attacking an helpless defender you get a +4 circumstance bonus. Additionally the defender is treated as if his Dexterity were 0 so that you, at least, get another +5 bonus to your attack; am I right? No. they just loose their Dex bonus and you get the +4 I think.

If you make an attack of opportunity but don’t want to strike with the weapon in hand, can you draw another weapon and make the AOO with this one (if you actually got the draw weapon feat)? Not sure, but I would rule No. i always assumed AoOs happen REALLY fast.

Does any character can use wands, rods and staffs or does you still have to have at least 1 level in an arcane or divine spellcasting class to use those items? (I’ve found no one sentence in the DMG that restrict the use of this items to only some classes) You have to have the spell it emulates on your spell list. You can't use it at all if you can't cast spells. This is what Use Magic Device is for.

Can prone, medium sized characters attack with large weapons? Yea, as far as I know they can.

How do you handle ranged disarm attempts? You can't without the feat Ranged Disarm

I just wondered Next time you might wonder on the Rules Forum ;)
 

Tess'har said:
If using a bow or another ranged weapon and facing an adjacent foe, you can, on your turn, move 5 feet from the enemy without taking an AOO against you, then take a full attack action and when the enemy again moves a 5 foot step toward you also get no AOO against him; am I right?

first, You cannot make an attack of opportunity with a ranged weapon becaue they don't allow you to threaten any squars but even it if were a non-ranged weapon right this would provoke no AoO. However with a ranged weapon they all have limits on how many shots you can fire in a round so you would need the rapid shot feet to really make any use of this scenario unless you're using a repeating cross bow, however a repeating cross bow takes an entrie round to reload. So this question is pretty mute.
If attacking an helpless defender you get a +4 circumstance bonus. Additionally the defender is treated as if his Dexterity were 0 so that you, at least, get another +5 bonus to your attack; am I right?

Nope, what if his dex is <12?
If you make an attack of opportunity but don’t want to strike with the weapon in hand, can you draw another weapon and make the AOO with this one (if you actually got the draw weapon feat)?

This falls to a GM ruling. My rulling on AoOs is that they are a free action which is why you're limited to one per round, I also rule that if you take an AoO you get no other free actions and vice versa. Therefore even with the quickdraw feet allowing you to draw a weapon as a free action you could not do this. Besides the guy is going to be past you by the time you change weapons so that really doesn't make any sense.
Does any character can use wands, rods and staffs or does you still have to have at least 1 level in an arcane or divine spellcasting class to use those items? (I’ve found no one sentence in the DMG that restrict the use of this items to only some classes)

That depends. The standard wand in 3e acctually requires a sort of metaspell to use it. However if you make the wand command word (or such) activated then anyone can use it but those wands are a lot more expensive.
Can prone, medium sized characters attack with large weapons?

no
How do you handle ranged disarm attempts?

First you would have to explain to me how you are going to disarm someone at a range. I would probably handle this on a case by case basis. Yes you could attempt to shoot the sword with your arrow as a called shot. No you cannot attept to hit the sword with your blow gun it won't have enough force to accomplish anything. Maybe there is someway to relate it to damage dice if the weapon but luckily I don't have players that try stuff like this.
 

Tess'har said:
Don’t flame me, take it as a quizgame…
Okay :)

If using a bow or another ranged weapon and facing an adjacent foe...
There is no facing in 3E. You are merely adjacent.

...you can, on your turn, move 5 feet from the enemy without taking an AOO against you...
Correct.

...then take a full attack action...
Provided you are not surprised, acting in a surprise round, or otherwise limited to partial actions only, then yes, you can take a full attack action.

...and when the enemy again moves a 5 foot step toward you also get no AOO against him; am I right?
You got it, partner.

If attacking an helpless defender you get a +4 circumstance bonus.
Correct.

Additionally the defender is treated as if his Dexterity were 0 so that you, at least, get another +5 bonus to your attack; am I right?
Not exactly. You don't receive a +5 attack bonus per se; instead, his Dex is effectively zero, meaning his Dex modifier to AC is effectively -5. So a helpless opponent has a -5 Dex modifier to AC, and you also get a +4 circumstance bonus to attack him. A fine distinction, but one that could be important situationally.

If you make an attack of opportunity but don’t want to strike with the weapon in hand, can you draw another weapon and make the AOO with this one (if you actually got the draw weapon feat)?
By "draw weapon feat" I'm going to assume you mean Quickdraw, which allows you to draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move-equivalent. While these isn't a rule in PHB that specifically covers this situation, I would rule the following: AoOs usually happen during someone else's turn. Free actions occur while taking another action normally. I would rule that it requires two free actions to do what you describe - drop a weapon as one, draw a weapon with Quickdraw as another. I might allow a single free action during an AoO, but not two. If you had a free hand and wanted to quickdraw the weapon with that hand, I would let you make your AoO with that hand, with all the normall applicable penalties to fighting with two weapons (since you never dropped your first weapon). To a ranger, this might not be a big deal. To a fighter without ambidexterity and two-weapon fighting, it could be.

Does any character can use wands, rods and staffs or does you still have to have at least 1 level in an arcane or divine spellcasting class to use those items? (I’ve found no one sentence in the DMG that restrict the use of this items to only some classes)
Can't answer this one definitively since my DMG isn't handy, but we've been playing it such that you must have the spell in question on your class's spell list to use a wand, rod, or staff with that spell inherent.

Can prone, medium sized characters attack with large weapons?
Yes. Attacking from prone imposes a -4 circumstance penalty to the attack, but any creature can attack with any melee weapon they can use from prone.

How do you handle ranged disarm attempts?
It's never come up :)
 
Last edited:


"Don't flame me"? Why should you get flamed? Yeah, you should have posted that in the rules forum, but that's no big deal.
 

Remove ads

Top