Psicrown Power Points?

RUMBLETiGER

Adventurer
Are the Power Points in Psicrown items used once and then expended forever, or are they renewed each day or by some other method? Expanded Psionics Handbook appears silent about the Power Points (p.169). Dorjes are clear about the charges getting used up (p.167). Under Charges and Multiple Uses (P.160) it indicates Dorjes using up charges, while seeming to say there was a difference between Charges and PP in an item.

How are PP used/renewed in Psicrowns? Am I missing some text or is it unclear?

Secondly, what is the user's manifester level is the user is not any psionic class? Does it require a Use Psionic Device skill check to trigger?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Psicrowns are Staffs/Staves that use their user's manifester level.
If you do not have a manifester level, you would use the manifester level of the ability you want to use.
Each crown has a set number of PP in it - once it is gone, the crown is useless.
Casting from crowns uses the crown's own PP, you can augment it in any way you normally could (maximum manifester level 5+highest level power in the crown), using the PP from the crown.
You cannot augment or cast powers from the crown with your own PP pool.
 

Psicrowns are Staffs/Staves that use their user's manifester level.
If you do not have a manifester level, you would use the manifester level of the ability you want to use.
Each crown has a set number of PP in it - once it is gone, the crown is useless.
Can you point me to the text that says these things? It makes sense, but I'm trying to figure where to find it.
 



SRD said:
When activating a psicrown, the user spends power points contained in the psicrown on any one of the psicrown’s powers.
You simply can't recharge them, unless I'm unaware of a feat or other such rule that would change that. Once expended, they become inert.

D&D FAQ said:
Can psicrowns or dorjes be recharged?
No. Just like a wand, staff, or any other charged item, once a psicrown or dorje’s charges are exhausted, the item loses its special powers and becomes worthless
 

You simply can't recharge them, unless I'm unaware of a feat or other such rule that would change that. Once expended, they become inert.
Thank you, the FAQ seems to directly address my question.

I just wondered, as Power Points instead of charges, if it was assumed they renewed as a psionic character would.
 


Remove ads

Top