Psionics/summoning question

Dannyalcatraz

Schmoderator
Staff member
Supporter
Just noticed: a lot of Psion powers create motes, shards, illusions, etc. that can be attacked...but how does one determine their defenses? Some seem like they should have HP as well, but don't...so am I missing something?

FWIW, the powers that got my attention were Shaped Consciousness & Summon Phantasmal Killer (PSP p85 and p91, respectively) and Manifest Dream Form (PHB3 p95).
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Just noticed: a lot of Psion powers create motes, shards, illusions, etc. that can be attacked...but how does one determine their defenses?
As far as I know all those powers have the conjuration keyword.

Normally, a conjuration cannot be attacked or physically affected. If a conjuration can be attacked or physically affected, it uses its creator’s defenses.
 


OK- what happens if they're Summonings without the word Conjuration? Does that mean there's a MM entry I need to look up? (Summon Phantasmal Killer (and Summon Ebony Stinger are such.)
 

Those two have the Summoning keyword, which is defined a few pages before the summonings themselves (it's in a good number of books actually). They've still got your defenses.
 

Thanks again!

I'm asking because I'm delving deeper into some of the options opening upmfor a multiclassed PC I'm running- the base class is Starlock, which has almost NONE of this kind of stuff in it- its basically new to me.
 

Does anyone know if there're any range limitations for shaped consciousness? The RAW from the Charbuilder is as follows:

  • You conjure a fragment of your consciousness in an unoccupied square in the burst.
  • The fragment lasts until the end of the encounter or until you dismiss it as a minor action.
  • The fragment occupies its square, and you and your allies can move through it.
  • When you take a move action, you can also move your fragment a number of squares equal to your speed.
  • You can see, hear, and use psion powers as if you were in your fragment's space.
  • Your fragment can be attacked. If it takes any damage, it disappears. It is immune to your attacks.
There's nothing to indicate how far the shaped consciousness fragment can move from you, or if its range is actually bound by your own movement (like a classic mirror image spell from 2e). I'm pretty sure this is an issue that will come up at the table tonight.
 

usually better off starting new threads to resing older ones.

But...I know this one!

Shaped Conciousness is a Movable Conjuration, and there are special rules for that.

Specifically:


Movable Conjurations: If the power used to create a conjuration allows it to be moved, it’s a movable conjuration. At the end of the creator’s turn, a movable conjuration ends if the creator doesn’t have line of effect to at least 1 square of the conjuration or if the creator isn’t within range (using the power’s range) of at least 1 square of the conjuration.
A conjuration can’t be moved through blocking terrain.

So:

It cannot be more than 10 squares from its creator at the end of his or her turn without vanishing.
It needs Line of Effect at the end of the creator's turn or it vanishes (so standing outside a doorway and sending it in is risky).
 

Actually, I'm happy for the necro of this thread because the issue raised was one I hadn't considered...and would be asking!
 

usually better off starting new threads to resing older ones.[//QUOTE]Sorry, I used to post a lot on a board that preferred otherwise -- that is, we were of the mind that an old thread that serves the question or post well is better than starting a new one, because it reduces thread glut and database strain.

Movable Conjurations: If the power used to create a conjuration allows it to be moved, it’s a movable conjuration. At the end of the creator’s turn, a movable conjuration ends if the creator doesn’t have line of effect to at least 1 square of the conjuration or if the creator isn’t within range (using the power’s range) of at least 1 square of the conjuration. A conjuration can’t be moved through blocking terrain.

So:

It cannot be more than 10 squares from its creator at the end of his or her turn without vanishing. It needs Line of Effect at the end of the creator's turn or it vanishes (so standing outside a doorway and sending it in is risky).
Thanks!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top