Pushing Question

Holy Bovine

First Post
Sorry if this has been asked & answered before (I'm sure it has but 4 pages of threads past the 1st and I can't find it) but if a creature is pushed into another creature (ie there were no other squares the pushed creature could enter) what happens? This happened in a recent game of mine where the paladin was pushed 2 squares into the rogue. I ruled that since 2 allies could only occupy the same space if one was prone the paladin was knocked prone. It kept the game moving as I hate looking up rules in the middle of combat but I have strong feeling the ruling was incorrect. A page reference would be appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If the target square of a push target is occupied or blocked, then the target can't be pushed into that square.

Page 286 of the Player's Handbook:

Clear Path: Forced movement can’t move a target into a space it couldn’t enter by walking. The target can’t be forced into an obstacle or made to squeeze into a space.
 
Last edited:

Not quite, but close. The paladin could enter the rogues square by walking, but the paladin cannot end its movement in that square, so if the paladin were pushed into the rogue's square (legal) and the push were ended, the paladin goes to the last legal square it could move. (p 238, Occupied Squares)
 

Another push question

Ok I have a similar question. You are on a ledge that is 5' wide and there is ..lets say a kobold next to you and another behind it. I as a fighter use Tide of iron and hit it can i push the kobold off the ledge? If i can does it get a save to fall prone in that square(a player found a rule i think that allows it) or can i push him diagonally off ledge and move into its square? I know if it is prone i cannot move into its square.
 

Ok I have a similar question. You are on a ledge that is 5' wide and there is ..lets say a kobold next to you and another behind it. I as a fighter use Tide of iron and hit it can i push the kobold off the ledge? If i can does it get a save to fall prone in that square(a player found a rule i think that allows it) or can i push him diagonally off ledge and move into its square? I know if it is prone i cannot move into its square.

Yes, you can try to push the kobold off of the ledge. The kobold gets a save to fall prone in the last "safe" square before it's pushed over the ledge (in this case, the square it was already in) as described on p. 44 of the DMG. If it fails, then you can shift into the space it just occupied.
 

Thanks guys! That really helps me get a better grasp of all this push/pull/slide stuff. Only a couple of my players use this ability very often and this was the first time this situation had come up.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top