Q: Casting on the Astral Plane

Marco Ender

First Post
First of all, hello EN-World :)

Second, right to the point:
The traits on the Astral Plane say that any spell is cast as if it was quickened, but still the limit exists that only one quickened spell per round can be cast. Does that mean that a wizard can cast a spell either right before or after his turn, but can´t cast any other spell during that round (since that spell would also be quickened and two quickened spells are not allowed). Examples:

possible: cast a spell (quick.), double move
possible: move, attack with weapon, cast a spell (quick.)
...

not possible: cast a spell (quick.), move, cast a spell (quick., but as "standard action").

Did i get this right?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Interesting question. I'd rule that a wizard (or sorcerer) on the astral plane could cast one spell as a standard action and an additional spell as a quickened action, and that the quicken feat is pointless on the astral plane (so a wizard couldn't cast a standard spell, an astrally quickened spell and a feat quickened spell).

Cheers
 

What Plane Sailing said.

If I was DM-ing, I'd allow a second spell to be cast in the round using a standard action, so you could pull off the quickened spell + standard action spell as you do on the material plane. But following the precise wording of the description, that shouldn't be possible.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top