Question about BoNS rules

Banshee16

First Post
I have a few questions about the book.

1-Many of the manoeuvers require prerequisites in order to be used. And, like sorcerers, they can swap out older manoeuvers as they gain levels. So let's say you have a character that has several ablities from a certain style. A level 1 ability, a level 2 ability (requires knowing 1 other ability in that style), a level 4 ability (requires knowing 2 other abilities in that style), and a level 6 abliity (requires knowing 3 other abilities in that style). If the character gains a new level, and gains access to the next level of manoeuvers, and he wants to swap out one of his older manoeuvers in order to get a higher level one with that slot. Let's say the ability he wants requires that he has 4 other manoeuvers.....could he switch out the lvl 1 manoeuver, and replace it with that higher level one? Would that mean he loses his lvl 4 ability, since he now no longer has two manoeuvers that are lower than lvl 4? Or can a manoeuver have a manoeuver of a higher level as its own prerequisite?

2-Regarding initiating actions...if a character has an ability that requires 1 standard action to initiate, does that mean he can have one action that round, to initiate the ability, and can move 30'? Or, if it's a character with 3 actions per round, could he use 1 action to initiate his manoeuver, then get 2 normal attacks that round?

Banshee
 

log in or register to remove this ad

1/ You must have the prerequisites when you choose the maneuver. There is nothing in the book saying you need to have the prerequisites in order to use it. Your DM may think it's cheesy, but it is legal according to the letter of the rules.

2/ Characters don't get three actions in a round. You have one standard action, one move action, one swift action, and possibly a 5 ft. step (if you didn't move any other way). So, you could indeed do a standard action and then move 30 ft., or move 30 ft. and then take your standard action.

Make sense?

Cheers, -- N
 

Even if the prereqs are needed for use, since it isn't specified that they have to be lower level, you could also do the following:

1. At 1st level, take a 1st level maneuver
2. At 3rd level, take a 2nd level maneuver with a prereq of "1 other maneuver"
3. At 4th level, swap out the 1st level maneuver for another 2nd level maneuver
 

There was a wizards' article specifying that the intent was to let you sub things out for higher level maneuvers. It ain't broke, don't bother fixin' it! :)
 

Remove ads

Top