Question about charging

thorimar

First Post
I thought this would be a simple answer to find in the PHB, but I feel left in the dark as usual. I understand that a charge must be in a straight line, more than 10' and up to double your movement. Charge is considered an attack action or standard action for the round, not a full round action. Therefore, as I read it, I could use my MEA to put myself in posistion to make a charge attack on an enemy. I don't have my book with me right now, but the charge description in the PHB says something about not being able to back up before a charge. Does this mean I can't use my move for the round to set up a charge if it means moving away from the target? To clarify, I don't want to back away from someone I am already engaged with and charge back in. That is stupid. I basically want to reposition if say the rogue or monk in my group is engaged with someone and I want to charge and end up in a flanking position instead of just next to the target. I wish I could put an image of what I am trying to describe. Let me know what you think.

Thorimar
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Let me clarify for you:

Charging requires that all your movement be in a straight line with no backing up. You must move at least 10' (not more than 10', but at least) and can move up to a double move as part of the charge.

You cannot make any other move when charging, so you cannot move to set up the charge and then charge in the same round.

This is all for a round without Haste. I won't get into what Haste does because Haste is changing in 3.5e and I have not seen the new Charge description yet, so I am not sure how they will work together when you are allowed up to 30' of extra movement.
 
Last edited:

Actually, thorimar, Charge is a full round action (in the SRD anyways).

Edit: i'll try to draw something that mught clear up your situation:

Code:
R = Friendly Rogue
O = Hostile Orc
Y = You (you have a 30' base movement)
. = 5' square

Y.........OR
Here, you would have to charge to get into flanking position, 
since the orc is more than 30' away

........Y
O
R

Here, you couldn't get into flanking position AND attack in the
same round. You could, nevertheless, get into flanking position 
(which means the rogue could sneak attack on his turn) OR 
charge the orc to get an attack this round. If you charged the orc, 
you'd end up so:

OY
R

Hope this helps!

Maitre D
 
Last edited:

Maitre Du Donjon said:
Actually, thorimar, Charge is a full round action (in the SRD anyways).

In the PHB it is a Special Standard Action, however, when you read the description, it is effectively a full-round action. I presume that's why it was re-categorized in the SRD.
 

Thorimar, if you're working from the PHB, you might also look at p. 122, Table 8-1. You'll notice that for "Charge", under the "Move" column it does not say "Yes". So you do not get a move action in addition to the rest of the charge.
 

Charge direction

Maitre Du Donjon said:
Edit: i'll try to draw something that mught clear up your situation:

Code:
........Y
O
R

Here, you couldn't get into flanking position AND attack in the
same round. You could, nevertheless, get into flanking position 
(which means the rogue could sneak attack on his turn) OR 
charge the orc to get an attack this round. If you charged the orc, 
you'd end up so:

OY
R

Actually, I don't think there is anything that says that you have to charge directly at an oppenent in the charge rules, just that you must move at least 10 feet in a straight line and attack at the end. I think your second example would work for both getting into flanking position and attacking at the end of a charge.

Ender
 

Re: Charge direction

Ender_3 said:


Actually, I don't think there is anything that says that you have to charge directly at an oppenent in the charge rules, just that you must move at least 10 feet in a straight line and attack at the end. I think your second example would work for both getting into flanking position and attacking at the end of a charge.

Ender

You are correct - you do not need to charge directly at your opponent, however, you must stop in the first square where you threaten that opponent.

Rumor has it that you will have to charge directly at your opponent in 3.5e. I don't know if that's true, or how that's worded.
 

Well, correct me if i'm wrong, but in a charge, you have to attack as soon as your opponent is within reach, no? Perhaps my example would let "Y" get into upper-left position (regarding "O").

If, with a charge, "Y" COULD get into flanking position, he'd at least draw an AoO from "O", but i doubt he could.

Maitre D
 

Maitre Du Donjon said:
Well, correct me if i'm wrong, but in a charge, you have to attack as soon as your opponent is within reach, no? Perhaps my example would let "Y" get into upper-left position (regarding "O").

If, with a charge, "Y" COULD get into flanking position, he'd at least draw an AoO from "O", but i doubt he could.

Maitre D

Quite right.
 

Re: Re: Charge direction

Artoomis said:


You are correct - you do not need to charge directly at your opponent, however, you must stop in the first square where you threaten that opponent.


ah.

So, presently, the following situation is possible?

A: guy with longspear (10' reach) and 30' move.
B: guy about to get longspeared
.: 5' space

Code:
[COLOR=orange]
.xy.......A
...........
B..........
[/COLOR]

A could charge, and attack B when he arrives in spot x (or y, i'm not sure about the lenght of diagonal squares...)? Logically speaking (yes, i know, we shouldn't bring logic into this), how is A going to use his charge momentum to stab sideways?

Maitre D
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top