Question about Hammershpere from the 3.0 arms and equipment guide

Emperawr

First Post
Okay so im trying to make sure that I understand how this works. I can pull out this orb and use a standard action?? to activate it or is it a different kind of action. What im wondering primarily is if I already have this item out and in hand would activating it be a standard action or would it possibly be a move equivalent action.

I ask because I have a plan with one of my characters that a friend of mine came up with. It requires a hammershpere, two dancing weapons, a hewards handy haversack and a pair of gloves of storing, and being hit with haste. So on the first turn of a combat the character would pull the hammershpere from the sack (free action) activate it (standard or other, hopefully move equivalent to make this work), then pop both of the dancing weapons out of the gloves of storing (free action) and toss them both into the air (requiring a standard action for one and the partial action from haste for the other). So if it would be possible to activate the hammersphere as a move equivalent then I could activate it and two dancing weapons all in one round.

Also since the hammersphere doesn't require consentration to keep it going. Only to switch it from one target to the next. My character could have the hammersphere going and still be doing his own full set of attacks. So on rounds other then the first round the hammersphere would get 3 attacks because of my character +15/+10/+5 base attack bonus and my character would still get his own 3 attacks per full round action as well. If anything about my logic there sounds wrong please feel free to correct me.

Also I assume it probably doesnt share my strength bonus to damage but if anyone thinks it does please tell me as well. Thanks in advance again for the help.


Hammersphere: This magic sphere is 4 inches in diameter, made of silver, and covered in small rubies. Etched into it in four places is the hammer-and-anvil symbol of the deity Moradin. When held aloft and activated with a command word, the sphere conjures forth a giant hammer. This hammer functions as a spiritual weapon except that it deals 3d6 points of damage per hit. The user of the hammersphere does not have to concentrate on the hammer or keep the sphere aloft while the hammer attacks. The hammersphere is usable once per day.
Caster Level: 7th; Prerequisites: Craft Wondrous Item, spiritual weapon, greater magic weapon; Market Price: 2,500 gp; Weight: —.

Spiritual Weapon
Evocation [Force]
Level: Clr 2, War 2
Components: V, S, DF
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect: Magic weapon of force
Duration: 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw: None
Spell Resistance: Yes
A melee weapon made of pure force springs into existence and attacks opponents at a distance, as you direct it, dealing 1d8 damage per hit. The weapon takes the shape of a weapon favored by your deity or a weapon with some spiritual significance or symbolism to you (see below) and has the same threat range and critical multipliers as a real weapon of its
form. It strikes the opponent you designate, starting with one attack the
round the spell is cast and continuing each round thereafter. It uses your base attack bonus as its attack bonus (possibly allowing it multiple attacks per round in subsequent rounds). It strikes as a spell, not as a weapon, so, for example, it can strike incorporeal creatures. The weapon always strikes from your direction. It does not get a flanking bonus or help a combatant get one. Your feats (such as Weapon Focus) or combat actions (such as
charge) do not affect the weapon. If the weapon goes beyond the spell range, if it goes out of your sight, or if you are not directing it, the weapon returns to you and hovers. Each round after the first, you can use a
standard action to switch the weapon to a new target. If you do not, the weapon continues to attack the previous round’s target. On any round that the weapon switches targets, it gets one attack. Subsequent rounds of attacking that target allow the weapon to make multiple attacks
if your base attack bonus would allow it to. The spiritual weapon cannot be attacked or damaged. If an attacked creature has SR, the resistance is checked the first time the spiritual weapon strikes it. If the weapon is successfully resisted, the spell is dispelled. If not, the weapon has its normal full effect on that creature for the duration of the spell. The weapon that you get is often a force replica of your deity’s own personal weapon, many of which have individual names. A cleric without a deity gets a weapon based on his alignment. A neutral cleric without a deity can create a spiritual weapon of any alignment provided he is acting at least
generally in accord with that alignment at the time.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

FWIW, the Hammersphere was updated to 3.5 in Magic Item Compendium, in the tools section. Not sure if they actually changed the text at all, just thought I'd mention that.

To answer your questions...it should be a standardd action to activate, as it says. After that, you only need to spend an action to redirect it, as you noted.

You should not get your str to damage, as that is not at all how the Spiritual Weapon spell works (you'd get +1 damage / 3 CL, or +2 in this case). On the attack roll, using the user's BAB seems fair, including for getting more attacks. But, since it says nothing about using your wis for the attack roll, I think you have to use the creator's. Items are made with the minimum required ability score, so for a level 2 spell, that's 12 Wisdom, for a +1 to the attack roll. If you had +15 BAB, you could get up to 3 hammer attacks, for bonuses of +16, +11, and +6. You can't add any feats or your str bonus to enhance the hammer's attack modifier. Buffs like Inspire Courage mght add to it, AFAIK, it's debateable if they do for the regular SPirirtual Weapon spell, so answer depends on how your DM rules it for the spell.
 
Last edited:

Hopefully he will agree. It all makes sense to me. I guess the only thing that will be kind of iffy is if it will just fight on its own while I still make my attacks since I dont need to concentrate on it like you do with the spell or if it is meant to be a replacement for the attacks I would make in a round. If its the latter then its pretty damn useless for my paladin but I could see how it would be usefull for a spell casting oriented cleric or something. It seems to me that there are quite a few glaring occlusions in the description. So many things that you would think would be obvious notes to include in the description. Wonder why they didnt......
 

It should work like the spell -- no need to concentrate, it attacks on its own. If you want to give it a new target (or its previous one dies, etc...), then you need to take a standard action. Otherwise, it pounds away on its own, that's the point of the spell.
 

Remove ads

Top