VorpalButterknife
First Post
Hi all, this is my first post, so be gentle... I didn't know whether I should post this under Equipment or Rules, but either way, here goes:
If a vampire is wielding a vicious weapon (DMG pg 226), does the 1d6 damage inflicted upon it by the weapon on a successful hit cause damage regardless, or does it follow the usual rules for damage reduction?
My gut feeling is that the 'flash of disruptive energy' that causes both the +2d6 damage to the foe and the 1d6 damage to the wielder is just treated as magic for purposes of overcoming DR, so that puny 1d6 would get soaked up by the vamp's DR 10/silver and magic, and it would therefore not take any damage. Can someone confirm or deny this hypothesis?
Thanks in advance!
If a vampire is wielding a vicious weapon (DMG pg 226), does the 1d6 damage inflicted upon it by the weapon on a successful hit cause damage regardless, or does it follow the usual rules for damage reduction?
My gut feeling is that the 'flash of disruptive energy' that causes both the +2d6 damage to the foe and the 1d6 damage to the wielder is just treated as magic for purposes of overcoming DR, so that puny 1d6 would get soaked up by the vamp's DR 10/silver and magic, and it would therefore not take any damage. Can someone confirm or deny this hypothesis?
Thanks in advance!