No, no, a thousand times no. It's just a clarifying statement.Originally posted by Balgus
I am just saying that by making a big deal about adding it before or after the doubling of crit ranges by impr crit and keen, they are basically saying that we should use the second scenario.
They explicitly stated that the constant is added after the multiplications, because this is the only ability of its kind. Keen Edge and the Improved Critical feat apply multipliers to the threat range, but only this ability adds a constant. Rather than have people argue about when that +2 gets added, they came right out and explained how it works. This one statement is not intended to change the standing rules of the rest of the game.
The need for the clarification becomes more obvious if you consider a weapon with a different threat range. A greataxe normally threatens on 20 only; keen and Improved, it threatens on 18-20. Adding the additional +2 would make it 16-20. If you (incorrectly) added the +2 before multiplying, you'd end up with 12-20, which is wrong.