Hello all, I recently started running a 4e campaign after being away from tabletop gaming for a few years and a couple questions have come up that I'm hoping you all can help me with. Please be gentle, I'm a first time DM 
First question, I have a player who has the Dwarven Weapon Training feat which gives +2 to attack and damage rolls. My question is how this applies to abilities that show as like 2[W]. If they are using a 1d10 hammer and an ability that is 2[W] do they get the +2 damage twice or just once? Would the 'weapon damage' include the +2 I guess is the real question. Is 2[W] 2d10+4 or 2d10+2. And if they are using an ability that's like 2[W] plus str modifier would it be say 2d10+2+4 (assuming 4 is their str modifier) or 2d10+4+4?
Second question. If someone uses an encounter power and misses is that power still tapped for that encounter? I think the answer is yes but at the same time it feels kinda severe and I'm considering house ruling that if it misses it's still available. Is my understanding of the rule correct?
Thanks in advance!

First question, I have a player who has the Dwarven Weapon Training feat which gives +2 to attack and damage rolls. My question is how this applies to abilities that show as like 2[W]. If they are using a 1d10 hammer and an ability that is 2[W] do they get the +2 damage twice or just once? Would the 'weapon damage' include the +2 I guess is the real question. Is 2[W] 2d10+4 or 2d10+2. And if they are using an ability that's like 2[W] plus str modifier would it be say 2d10+2+4 (assuming 4 is their str modifier) or 2d10+4+4?
Second question. If someone uses an encounter power and misses is that power still tapped for that encounter? I think the answer is yes but at the same time it feels kinda severe and I'm considering house ruling that if it misses it's still available. Is my understanding of the rule correct?
Thanks in advance!