Questions about 2 Feats

Dannyalcatraz

Schmoderator
Staff member
Supporter
1) Re: Smiting Strike Spell- do you get to attack the same round as you transfer the spell into your weapon or must you take a round to cast it into your weapon then attack the subsequent round?

2) Arcane Strike- does the feat only work with arcane spells or can you channel divine spells with this feat?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

#1 where is that from? I can't even find a reference to it online.

Normally speaking, transferring a spell into a sword takes the normal casting time of the spell. So most spells would be standard actions. THe only exception of which I know is the spellsword who can transfer a spell as a move action.

If the feat doesn't say then it's best to assume that moving the spell into the sword takes the same amount of time as it does to cast.

I'm sure for #2 it's only arcane. I mean, really, the feat is named arcane strike...not divine strike.
 

Sorry about that- I miswrote it in the initial post- Smiting Spell is from the PHB2 p92.

As for arcane strike, I'm pretty sure its arcane only, but I was wondering if there was any known FAQ or other opinion to the contrary.
 

Nope, according to here:

http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=853808

smiting spell takes at least a standard action to use.

The text of arcane strike says that you "channel arcane energy into a weapon, unarmed strike, or natural weapon", so I'm pretty sure you can't use it to channel divine spells.

On a side note, apparently duskblades can channel divine spells if they can cast them using arcane channeling.
 


s-dub said:
On a side note, apparently duskblades can channel divine spells if they can cast them using arcane channeling.

???

Gotta explain this one. Always thought Duskblades could only channel spells that were on the Duskblade's Spell List, and not spells gained from other classes.
 

Kat, it's on page 16 of the official FAQ. THe questions are, Can a duskblade use arcane channeling to channel divine spells? What about arcane spells from other classes? The answers are yes and yes.
 

s-dub said:
Kat, it's on page 16 of the official FAQ. THe questions are, Can a duskblade use arcane channeling to channel divine spells? What about arcane spells from other classes? The answers are yes and yes.

Can someone post the rules text to the Arcane Channeling ability? It will depend on the exact wording, but I suspect that this ruling is inconsistent with the answer to the "Can a cleric/wizard lose a prepared wizard spell to spontaneously cast a cure spell?" question on page 12.
 

Deset Gled said:
Can someone post the rules text to the Arcane Channeling ability? It will depend on the exact wording, but I suspect that this ruling is inconsistent with the answer to the "Can a cleric/wizard lose a prepared wizard spell to spontaneously cast a cure spell?" question on page 12.

By the original RAW, that is a legal move, though thematically questionable.

srd said:
The cleric can "lose" any prepared spell that is not a domain spell in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower (a cure spell is any spell with "cure" in its name).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top