Questions about Shatter

Melle

First Post
(pg. 278 of the 3.5 PHB) The spell lists saves as "Will negates(object)". What exactly does this mean?

If I shatter a non-magical object, does it get a save? If so, at what bonus?

If I shatter a magical object, does it get a save? If so, at what bonus?

If I shatter a non-magical object held by a character, does it get a save? If so, at what bonus? Does the character get to save?

If I shatter a magical object held by a character, does it get a save? If so, what? Does the characterget to save?

What about sentient items, any difference?

Is there a difference to any of the above answers if I use the AoE version or the targeted version of the spell?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Melle said:
(pg. 278 of the 3.5 PHB) The spell lists saves as "Will negates(object)". What exactly does this mean?

It means that an attended object uses the Will save of the person in whose possession it is. Non-attended objects get no save.

If I shatter a non-magical object, does it get a save? If so, at what bonus?

See above.

If I shatter a magical object, does it get a save? If so, at what bonus?

You can't shatter magical objects using Shatter. Note the references to "nonmagical" in the spell description.

If I shatter a non-magical object held by a character, does it get a save? If so, at what bonus? Does the character get to save?

See above.

If I shatter a magical object held by a character, does it get a save? If so, what? Does the characterget to save?

See above.

What about sentient items, any difference?

A sentient item is probably treated as a creature and can't be affected by the spell. Unless it's a crystalline creature, in which case you do the listed damage.

Is there a difference to any of the above answers if I use the AoE version or the targeted version of the spell?

No. The only change is in the weight of the items you can target.
 

shilsen said:
It means that an attended object uses the Will save of the person in whose possession it is. Non-attended objects get no save.

Magic items have their own save (1/2 caster level +2, IIRC) even when unattended. An attended magic item can use it´s own save or the wielder´s, whichever is higher.
 

Someone said:
Magic items have their own save (1/2 caster level +2, IIRC) even when unattended. An attended magic item can use it´s own save or the wielder´s, whichever is higher.

True, but in the case of Shatter, it's irrelevant, since magic items aren't affected.

I'd also disallow a Reflex save for an intelligent item (which ruling is contingent on one's intepretation of the phrase 'room to move'), but oddly (due to a quirk of wording) not necessarily for a nonintelligent magic item.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
True, but in the case of Shatter, it's irrelevant, since magic items aren't affected.

You´re right; it´s in the spell description. I missed that, since normally the "nonmagical" part is also included in the Target line.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top