Quick and possibly no-brainer question.


log in or register to remove this ad

saying this from memory but i am almost certain that a new mark overwrites an existing mark. So whomever marked the target last (in this case, marked the target second) is the one with the active mark/mark effect.
 


Well, the reason I asked is because certain things don't count as marks- that is, certain things stack. A fighter can mark a target, and it can still be Quarried by a Ranger or Cursed by a Warlock, for example. I don't think that a Fighter and Swordmage's marks stack, but my only reasoning is that they're both defenders and that would be weird. I'm just looking for a specific, preferably direct quote from the rules or something.
 

Marks do not stack. I think that is to keep two or three defenders from marking the same guy and getting lots of extra damage on him, no matter what he does.
 

Well, it states it in the description of the specific marking abilities and powers, like say in the swordmage Aegis powers:

A creature can be subject to only one mark at a time. A new mark supersedes a mark that was already in place.

I'm pretty sure this language appears in every marking ability. I'm not sure if it's ever stated as a general rule, but that certainly seems to be the intention.
 

Another reason for this rule is that if a creature was marked by two different enemies, then he would have nobody he could safely attack, because whichever one he attacks, he would get the penalty/negative effect from the other mark.

And Hunter's Quarry and Warlock's Curse have no effect on this sicussion because they are not marks in any way. They are simply effects that you can put on a target that help you do extra damage.
 

'Marked' is a status effect, with specific effects, p277 PHB. Hunter's Quarry and Warlock's Curse are not marks, they are their own effects, completely independent of one another.
 

Good point about it being a condition not a bonus... that's why stacking rules don't apply, they just aren't relevant. Like, if you are stunned, another effect that also makes you stunned can't make you double stunned. Stunned is stunned.

Marked is a bit of an oddball though in that it refers back to the "creature that marked you". That actually does implicitly tie it to the effect that imposed the marked condition, and it would be ambiguous which "creature that marked you" applies after being marked by multiple creatures. Thus, the extra bit in the marking powers about being subject to only one mark at a time. That removes the ambiguity.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top