Quick dirty question about Ready

Li Shenron

Legend
Ok, I know that Readying is a standard action and that you can ready a standard/move/free action. That leaves you with a move action more this round.

I have always played it that if you ready, you either did the move action before readying or you don't get the move action this round.

Someone is challenging me to find the wording in the rules of Readying that forbids a character to FIRST readying a standard action and THEN immediately after the readied action was triggered and resolved (or just after the other character finishes his action) he can ALSO take the move action, provided he hasn't done it yet.

Example:

He (the challenger) is threatening a mage and only thing he does is to ready a melee attack, setting the trigger to "mage starts casting". Mage casts at his Init 15, which triggers the readied action and lowers the challenger's Init to 15+. Challenger wants to have also a move action he hasn't done yet this round, either now at Init 15+ or maybe after the mage finishes his turn but still at Init 15.

Help me finding the passage in SRD! Excuse I can't do it myself is I am very sick today ;)
 

log in or register to remove this ad


From the 3.5 SRD:

The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round.

In this text, it states that:

1) Ready is a standard action.
2) "You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action". You cannot "ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action AND another action".
3) You specify "the action you will take", not "the actions you will take".
4) You may "take the readied action", not "take the readied action and another action".
5) If you interrupt another characters action, "he continues his actions once you complete your readied action", not "he continues his actions once you complete your readied action and another action".

You only get to do one thing with the Readying An Action activity, take the declared action if the condition occurs. That declared action is singular.
 

You can move after readying an action: The action remains readied after your turn is over. When/if the readied action fires, you may take your readied action, but it is no longer your turn, so you may not take a move, unless your readied action was a move, or you didn't move on the turn you readied the action and wish to make a 5' move. You cannot ready an action, end your turn, have your readied action fire, then move again.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top