Quick Rule Question Regarding "the attack action"

Shin Okada

Explorer
Expertise feat (PHB P.82) says "When you use the attack action or full-attack action".

Fighting Defensively (PHB P.124) says "When taking the attack action."

What does "the attack action" Strictly mean?
Standard "Attack" action?
Or all the actions listed under "attack actions"? (It may include charge)

And if it does mean standard "Attack" action, does it mean that I cannot take "fighting defensively" option when I perform full-attack?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

in the SRD, an attack action is described as a standard action that does not provoke an AoO, and

"Full attack [Full][AoO: No]
Description: If a character gets more than one attack per action, the character must use the full attack action to use those additional attacks. A character does not need to specify the targets of a the attacks ahead of time. A character can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones...

A character can choose to fight defensively when taking the full attack action. If a character does so, the character takes a -4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 dodge bonus to AC for the same round. "
 

The attack action is any series of actions defined as attack actions.

That means that during a full round that involved three attacks, you could fight defensively, taking a -4 on each each attack and gaining your +2 to AC. Or you could use expertise, subtract -x from each attack and x to your AC, etc.

This also involves anything that acts like an attack . For example, you could use expertise during disarm, and your bonus to AC would count against the AOO you would provoke.

Hope that helps.
 

You can use either one in a full attack. In fact, you can use both. You get a -4 to your attack roll and a +2 to your AC for fighting defensively, and an additional -1/+1 for each point you use for Expertise, up to your BAB or +5, whichever is lower. So if you have a BAB of +3, and you devote all 3 to defense using Expertise, and you also fight defensively, your total numbers are -7 to your attack roll and +5 to your AC.
 
Last edited:

Shin Okada said:
Expertise feat (PHB P.82) says "When you use the attack action or full-attack action".

Fighting Defensively (PHB P.124) says "When taking the attack action."

What does "the attack action" Strictly mean?
Standard "Attack" action?
Or all the actions listed under "attack actions"? (It may include charge)

And if it does mean standard "Attack" action, does it mean that I cannot take "fighting defensively" option when I perform full-attack?
Read that page further. You'll notice that Fighting Defensively is described twice: one for the Standard Attack Action section and the other for the Full Attack Action.
 

Remove ads

Top