quickness (su)

Dracandross

First Post
We stumbled upon question whater choker should be able to do extra action in addition to full action (for example full attack) as its said to take all the effort you can take in a round.

It doesn't say that you need move&standard action to do full round action but just you cant take anything but 5ft step in addition to it. Though quickness ability states that you can take extra action each round. Which would sound like quickness makes you just waste more effort to do the same others do less quickly and that would be stupid. Whats the order to take rules in effect.

And howabout spells if you have full action spell? Or full round spell? Multiple round spell?



-Dracandross
 

log in or register to remove this ad

SRD said:
Quickness (Su): Although not particularly dexterous, a choker is supernaturally quick. It can take an extra standard action or move action during its turn each round.
I don't understand the confusion. The choker can do what everyone else can do (full-round action/move-action + move-action/standard-action + move action), and above and beyond all that, they can take another move action or another standard action.

As regards spells, they function perfectly normally; Haste, for example, would allow the Choker an additional attack on his full attack. He would then still be able to make another standard action or move action.
 

The text about full round actions is based on the assumption, that you cannot get extra actions. The choker's ability - of course - circumvents this (special rules usually take precedent over general rules). The choker can perform a full attack and another standard action.

It's trickier with spells with a 1 round casting time, since that does not depend on one's actions. The choker-shapechanged wizard could use the extra standard action, then a full round action to cast the 1 round casting time spell, and that would work fine, but the other way around (first cast the spell then take extra action) it would not.

Bye
Thanee
 

Chokers are broken. They should have been sent into that OOTS dungeon where all the non-converted and forgotten monsters are kept.
 

Darklone said:
Chokers are broken. They should have been sent into that OOTS dungeon where all the non-converted and forgotten monsters are kept.
That is still the greatest-evar OOTS comic strip, for me. Brings tears to my eyes.

*sniff*
 

Thanee said:
It's trickier with spells with a 1 round casting time, since that does not depend on one's actions. The choker-shapechanged wizard could use the extra standard action, then a full round action to cast the 1 round casting time spell, and that would work fine, but the other way around (first cast the spell then take extra action) it would not.

There was a weird 3E rule, but I can't remember off-hand if it was in Tome and Blood or the FAQ, where you could spend an extra standard action (from Haste, for example) to finish a one round spell in the round you started casting.

So Summon Monster, for example, would either take your full round action, plus cast until just before your next turn; or it would take your full round action plus an extra standard action, and it would come into effect immediately.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top