Rake, improved grab ?

Tellerve

Registered User
I was looking over my brand new shiny Monster Manual and the special monster abilities and found some stuff I like. Basically ratching down the tsunamis of pain that are cats. As it is now it seems that a pounce attack is part of a charge, which I like as it fits very much into what happens in the wild.

However, *sigh* oddly worded mechanics creep in on rake. Namely that on page 313, well really 314 (top), that it must start the turn grappling to rake. It says it can't start a grapple and rake in the same turn. However, if you look at jaguar, or tiger, or whatever it says in its improved grab that if it gets a hold it can rake. Along with raking on a pounce, but seeing as that is more specifically painted into charging I'm better with that one.

Also the sentence that says that "normally a monster can attack with only one of its natural weapons while grappling," page 313 has me a bit unsure.

Tellerve
 

log in or register to remove this ad



The "If it wins a grapple check, it establishes a hold and can rake" means that it now has the ability to rake (on its next action).

If the big cat begins its next turn grappling its foe, it rakes.

Basically:

Round 1: Cat grapples- establishes a hold

Round 2: Cat can now rake
 

Gotcha, "can" as opposed to "does" rake. Thanks for clearing it up, or at least making me think the way I was thinking about it is the way your thinking about it and hence how I'll rule it :)

Tellerve
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top