Range and sustain

brehobit

Explorer
OK,
I'm not finding rules on this so I thought I'd ask. I strongly suspect I'm just missing the obvious.

The basic question is what happens when you get out of range of your own power. Consider flaming sphere or consecrate ground.

  1. Does the zone/conjuration/whatever disappear the moment you are out of range of it?
  2. If not, can you sustain something you are out of range of?
  3. What exactly is _in_ range for sustaining a close burst? Do you need to be in the middle? Just in the burst area?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

PHB p. 59 shall bring you wisdom:

If a power allows you to move a conjuration, at least 1 square that the conjuration occupies must remain within the power’s range. If you move far enough away from a conjuration that it is no longer in range, its effect immediately ends.

...

If a power allows you to move a zone, at least 1 square that the zone covers must remain within the power’s range. If you move far enough away from a zone that it is no longer in range, its effects immediately end.
 

1. Yes, as soon as you are out of range of a conjuration/zone, it goes *poof* instantly.

2. Doesn't matter, but if it was possible, I would say no to sustaining out of range.

3. I rule it as having to stay within "X" squares, where X is the range of the spell. (e.g. Close Burst 2, you'd have to stay within 2 squares of the conjuration/zone)
 

If a power allows you to move a conjuration, at least 1 square that the conjuration occupies must remain within the power’s range. If you move far enough away from a conjuration that it is no longer in range, its effect immediately ends.

...

If a power allows you to move a zone, at least 1 square that the zone covers must remain within the power’s range. If you move far enough away from a zone that it is no longer in range, its effects immediately end.

Cool, that is what I was missing. Thanks! So for zones that are close burst, as many are, what exactly does that mean? If I read it right it means that means for a close burst 1 I'm "in range" of the Zone (Z squares) if I'm in any of the X or Z squares (one square of the zone is within a burst 1 of me).

XXXXX
XZZZX
XZZZX
XZZZX
XXXXX

Does that sound right?
(I see Dalzig reads it that way too...)
 
Last edited:

Bump...

So folks generally agree with the ruling above? I thought most people were playing that you had to be _in_ a zone created by a close burst rather than just near it.

Mark
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top