Reach & Cover

RigaMortus2

First Post
We use the soft cover rules... This situation came up twice so far. We have the following:

P = Player
E = Enemy


XXXX
XPEEX
XXXX

Ok, P has a Reach Weapon (a long spear). The E directly adjacent to P can not be attacked due to the limitation on Reach weapons. If the 2nd E provokes an AoO, can P take that AoO? If so, would he get cover from his ally?

We've been ruling that technically the 2nd E does get the +4 cover from his friend, but since the 1st E isn't threatened by P, nor can P make an attack on E anyway, the +4 is negated. So even if he does miss by the soft cover provided, he still hits. Understand? Make sense?

Just want to know if we are playing that right...
 

log in or register to remove this ad

RigaMortus2 said:
We use the soft cover rules... This situation came up twice so far. We have the following:

P = Player
E = Enemy


XXXX
XPEEX
XXXX

Ok, P has a Reach Weapon (a long spear). The E directly adjacent to P can not be attacked due to the limitation on Reach weapons. If the 2nd E provokes an AoO, can P take that AoO? If so, would he get cover from his ally?

We've been ruling that technically the 2nd E does get the +4 cover from his friend, but since the 1st E isn't threatened by P, nor can P make an attack on E anyway, the +4 is negated. So even if he does miss by the soft cover provided, he still hits. Understand? Make sense?

Just want to know if we are playing that right...

The answer, shortly, is no. Soft cover does not apply in any way, shape, or form to melee attacks, only missile attacks.
 

RigaMortus2 said:
Understand? Make sense?
No. :)

If the target has cover you don't get an AoO. ("You can’t execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you.")

If you make some other attack then yes, the target gets a +4 cover bonus (soft cover). ("Creatures, even your enemies, can provide you with cover against ranged attacks, giving you a +4 bonus to AC." ... "When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.")
 

Joachim said:
The answer, shortly, is no. Soft cover does not apply in any way, shape, or form to melee attacks, only missile attacks.
Except that the rules say to use the rules for ranged attacks when determining cover from reach attacks.
 


Iku Rex said:
No. :)

If the target has cover you don't get an AoO. ("You can’t execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you.")
Unless of course you have a level of Exotic Weapon Master (CW) with the stunt that overcomes this restriction. But yes, otherwise Iku Rex has it right.
 

But the question is, since I am using a Reach weapon, does the target even have cover, since the cover he would have (soft cover) I am unable of attacking with the reach weapon even if I wanted to.

Suppose AoO doesn't come into play. Suppose I want to make a regular attack with his ally interposed between us. Does he get a cover bonus from his ally, whom I am incapable of attacking anyway due to the limitations on Reach weapons?
 
Last edited:

RigaMortus2 said:
Suppose AoO doesn't come into play. Suppose I want to make a regular attack with his ally interposed between us. Does he get a cover bonus from his ally, whom I am incapable of attacking anyway due to the limitations on Reach weapons?
Sure. Why wouldn't he?
 


RigaMortus2 said:
Does he get a cover bonus from his ally, whom I am incapable of attacking anyway due to the limitations on Reach weapons?

Whether or not you can strike the ally makes no difference to whether he limits the ease of your attack on your target. The ally is in the way and causing you problems.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top