Reach Weapons and larger sizes


log in or register to remove this ad

Ogrork the Mighty said:
If a Medium creature with a reach weapon (say, 10 feet) is enlarged to Large size, what is the reach of the weapon? 20 feet?

"A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away."

-Hyp.
 


A simple general rule is that when a creature picks up a Reach weapon, they threaten squares out to twice their natural reach, but no longer threaten within their natural reach (aside from exceptional weapons such as the whip or spiked chain).
 

MarkB said:
A simple general rule is that when a creature picks up a Reach weapon, they threaten squares out to twice their natural reach, but no longer threaten within their natural reach (aside from exceptional weapons such as the whip or spiked chain).

A Large creature with an appropriately-sized spiked chain, for example, threatens (strictly as written) 20 feet, 15 feet, and 5 feet (but not 10 feet).

As for what a Large creature with an appropriately-sized whip threatens, it's not really clear. Is it three times his normal reach? Is it his normal reach, plus ten feet? Is it double his normal reach, plus five feet? Is it fifteen feet, regardless of his normal reach?

Who knows? :)

-Hyp.
 

Ok, what if a monk has a reach weapon in hand?
I says that monks can make unarmed attacks even if their hands are full and they are carrying something. (by using kicks, knees, headbuts etc)

So I assume a medium sized monk with a long spear would threaten both 5' and 10'.
Is that right?

If so, then an enlarged monk with a large long spear would threaten all squares within 20'? That seem brilliant! any thing wrong here?
If not, would this monk get an attack of opportunity for each square an opponent moves through? as in to walk up to him with 5' reach would result in 3 attacks of op.?

Please tell me where I'm going wrong.
 

Cephid said:
So I assume a medium sized monk with a long spear would threaten both 5' and 10'. Is that right?
They certainly can threten 5 ft and 10 ft. Opinion is divided on whether they need to take TWF penalties to do so.

I believe they have to take the penalties, FWIW.


glass.
 

Cephid said:
If so, then an enlarged monk with a large long spear would threaten all squares within 20'? That seem brilliant! any thing wrong here?
Sounds OK so far (bearing in mind my previous comment about TWF).
If not, would this monk get an attack of opportunity for each square an opponent moves through? as in to walk up to him with 5' reach would result in 3 attacks of op.?
No. If you are just moving, you only provoke once from each opponent rergardless of how many threatened squares you exit.


glass.
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top