Readying a Maneuver?

griff_goodbeard

First Post
See below for the relevant text on readying an action. Got me thinking, can you ready an action to use a maneuver (provided it's a standard, move or swift action)?

SRD said:
Readying an Action
You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Certainly. Just as you can ready an action to cast a spell, or perform a counterspell, or make an attack, or whatever. Though you can only ready maneuvers that require a standard, move, or free action; I don't think the rule was ever changed to allow swift actions or immediate actions (not that the latter would even need it). And of course, full-round actions can't be readied (so no readying an action for the Time Stands Still maneuver).

So you can't ready an action to initiate Burning Blade and Mountain Hammer against Ogre B, but you can ready an action to just initiate Mountain Hammer against Ogre B.
 

Yep, and it's really quite effective. Last game my crusader readied an action to use Flanking Maneuver as soon as my last ally stepped into flanking position on an enemy.
 

Remove ads

Top