Readying your action limits?

DarkJester

First Post
Are there any limits as to what you can set a readyed action against?

Could you ready an action to charge after already moving? ("I ready my action to charge that the orc if he moves any closer to me").

Could you ready an action including a free action. Such as reading a magic missle and quickened magic missle if an opposing caster starts casting a spell?


If you hadn't moved prior to your readied action, could you take a 5ft step during it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DarkJester said:
Are there any limits as to what you can set a readyed action against?

You can ready and action that is a 'partial action'

Could you ready an action to charge after already moving? ("I ready my action to charge that the orc if he moves any closer to me").

You could ready a partial charge, but not a full charge.

Could you ready an action including a free action. Such as reading a magic missle and quickened magic missle if an opposing caster starts casting a spell?

Yes, just remember, 1 quickened spell a round

If you hadn't moved prior to your readied action, could you take a 5ft step during it?

If all you do is take a 5 foot step, yes.

For example, my charecter is in melee with the enemy wizard, wizard take a 5 foot step back to cast a spell, I had readied to attack if he cast a spell, I take my 5 foot step and my attack.
 



Is it? I would have said it should be a straight line only the partial charge, not the previous move...

If you say that too loud, the Sage will hit you with a big stick.

After all, it comes close to allowing you to use the Fleet of Foot feat (prerequisites Dex 15+, Run feat, no medium or heavy armor) for free.

The ruling is that any movement in the same round prior to any sort of charge must be in a straight line, from memory, even with Haste... although I'd need to check to be sure of that last bit.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:


If you say that too loud, the Sage will hit you with a big stick.

After all, it comes close to allowing you to use the Fleet of Foot feat (prerequisites Dex 15+, Run feat, no medium or heavy armor) for free.

The ruling is that any movement in the same round prior to any sort of charge must be in a straight line, from memory, even with Haste... although I'd need to check to be sure of that last bit.

-Hyp.

I did not know of this ruling before.

So I imagine a nice picture now: "I move toward the wizard, in a perfectly straight line, and ready to charge him as soon as he casts", the the wizards decides to just stare at me, while I am stuck in the middle of the charge, snapshot! :)
 

So I imagine a nice picture now: "I move toward the wizard, in a perfectly straight line, and ready to charge him as soon as he casts", the the wizards decides to just stare at me, while I am stuck in the middle of the charge, snapshot! :)

The problem is that the DMG basically handles the Ready action by requiring the action you Ready to be fairly specific, down to who you're going to attack when it triggers, for example.

No problem - the action is "Charge the wizard".

The trigger, however, seems to be looser. So you could Ready an action to charge the wizard "if anyone moves", for example. (Colloquially referred to as an "autotrigger ready action", from memory.)

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:


The problem is that the DMG basically handles the Ready action by requiring the action you Ready to be fairly specific, down to who you're going to attack when it triggers, for example.

No problem - the action is "Charge the wizard".

The trigger, however, seems to be looser. So you could Ready an action to charge the wizard "if anyone moves", for example. (Colloquially referred to as an "autotrigger ready action", from memory.)

-Hyp.

Don't worry, I see your point: the ruling is specifically meant to prevent a charging PC to circumvent the charge restriction of moving in a straight line, by abusing the ready action he has to keep straight only the latter half of the movement (at least 10ft).
 

Don't worry, I see your point: the ruling is specifically meant to prevent a charging PC to circumvent the charge restriction of moving in a straight line, by abusing the ready action he has to keep straight only the latter half of the movement (at least 10ft).

That's exactly it :)

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top