Resistance to energy

Egres

First Post
When resistance completely negates the damage from an energy attack, the attack does not disrupt a spell.

How does this rule exactly works?

For example, if try to discharge a touch spell that inflicts fire damage, and the damage is completely negated, do I maintain the charge?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


That line is talking about using energy damage to try and disrupt another spellcaster's spellcasting. If you make an energy attack against an opponent who is in the process of casting a spell, and all damage from your attack is negated, then your opponent does not need to make a concentration check in order to complete casting.
 


MarkB said:
That line is talking about using energy damage to try and disrupt another spellcaster's spellcasting. If you make an energy attack against an opponent who is in the process of casting a spell, and all damage from your attack is negated, then your opponent does not need to make a concentration check in order to complete casting.

It's a potentially important qualification, too. Damage dealt and damage taken are not always the same thing.

If I get hit with a Scorching Ray, the caster rolls 11 damage, and I have Fire Resistance 10, the damage dealt is 11, and the damage taken is 1.

If this occurred while I was casting a spell, I was damaged during the action; my concentration check DC is 10 + damage dealt. It's not entirely clear whether this is intended to apply as written - DC 21 - or whether the Fire Resistance also reduces the check DC, even though it is changing the damage taken, rather than the damage dealt, resulting in a DC 11.

In either case, it's clear that if the FR reduces the damage to nothing, no check is required at all.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top