Resizing Armor


log in or register to remove this ad

DonTadow said:
I would have the pc sell the masterwork item and buy one for their size. There is no rule for it...

Note that PHB chapter "Equipment: Selling Loot" says "you can sell something for half its listed price". Same is said for magic items in chapter "Adventuring: Treasure".
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I'm saying you could not successfully argue that - barring house rules.

I am suggesting that, with a sympathetic enough DM, you could point to the flavor text that you yourself quoted above about all magic clothes and gear resizing, and ask him to blur the lines a little. Note that this is intended to be a real-world consideration, and not a rules statement.
 


I never sweat the lack of rules:

Me: Wow, we found this cool bit of armor. Can we resize it to fit the halfling?
GM: Sure, make a Craft (Leatherworking) check DC 15 and pay 10% of Masterwork cost, or you can hire someone to do it for 20%.
Me: Sounds great. We take it to the town leather crafter.
GM: Ok, after you take care of that, the leather crafter lets you know about a certain spot in the kingdom known to be a great source of Dragonhide. It's a sacred spot where dragons go do die called the Last Flight of the Dragon. What do you do?

...Cue start of new and awesome adventure with hafling in masterwork armor and the campaign all the better for it.
 

darkelfo said:
Hmmm... No one liked my Resize Cantrip idea. And here I thought I was all crafty for finding it. :(
I think you were crafty for finding it. :) Though I don't like the idea of a cantrip completely nullifying an intentional hindrance in the game.
 

Lord Pendragon said:
I think you were crafty for finding it. :) Though I don't like the idea of a cantrip completely nullifying an intentional hindrance in the game.
I don't think it's complete - if the description of the spell was correct, then the duration is permanent. Which means it can be dispelled. And if it's been enchanted between the initial casting of resize and the dispel, well... then it's no longer a valid target. (I actually don't know if it'd stop being a valid target if it was enchanted at all - it might, but probably not, since that would logically create a loop.)
 

Terraism said:
I don't think it's complete - if the description of the spell was correct, then the duration is permanent. Which means it can be dispelled. And if it's been enchanted between the initial casting of resize and the dispel, well... then it's no longer a valid target. (I actually don't know if it'd stop being a valid target if it was enchanted at all - it might, but probably not, since that would logically create a loop.)

Is this true? I though it would just make the change and then cease to be magical. I guess it it was "Instant" then it would be that way. Or Permanent the same thing?
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top