Resplendent Circlet: How does it's CA granting power work?

Iron Sky

Procedurally Generated
Resplendent Circlet from AV2, level 7:

Aside from its property, which is unrelated, it has:

Power (Encounter): Minor. Choose one ally within 5 squares of you. One enemy adjacent to that ally grants combat advantage to him or her.

Since there is no duration listed, we assumed it lasted until the end of the encounter (which is our default if there is no duration listed for anything). You could argue that, since it's an encounter power, it's duration should be "until the end of your next turn" since most do, but we're going with our default.

But, is it

a) You make one specific enemy grant CA to your ally? ("That goblin grants CA to you")

or

b) Your ally gains the ability to make one specific enemy grant them CA? ("You can pick one enemy that grants CA to you")

or

c) Your ally gains the ability to make one enemy grant them CA and they can choose a new one whenever? ("One enemy always grants CA to you")

I would assume a), but my player that has one of these helms is arguing c).

What does everyone else think?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It's an encounter so it can only be done once, that's for sure.

The effect is quite specific, it doesn't use "you", it uses him or her (singular) and "one ally". So one ally gain CA against one enemy.

I believe you are correct that without errata, it grants CA the whole encounter, since that is the default duration. It might very well get errataed, as it's quite powerful as level 7 headslot item.
 

I see what your saying, but the main confusion on this end is: is the ability to grant CA a one-shot capability of the helmet's wearer or is it granting the ally the ability to elect CA for themselves?

Is the power targeting an ally and creating a sort of "aura" that makes one enemy who goes near them give up CA or is the power "bouncing" from the ally to target the enemy. It sounds like it's targeting the ally to me...

For example, say your ally has an enemy adjacent to them. You use the power on your ally and so that enemy grants CA. During the round, that enemy dies and a new enemy moved adjacent to your ally. The power specifies, "one target adjacent to your ally grants CA" and your ally does indeed again have a target adjacent to them...
 

I see what your saying, but the main confusion on this end is: is the ability to grant CA a one-shot capability of the helmet's wearer or is it granting the ally the ability to elect CA for themselves?

Is the power targeting an ally and creating a sort of "aura" that makes one enemy who goes near them give up CA or is the power "bouncing" from the ally to target the enemy. It sounds like it's targeting the ally to me...

For example, say your ally has an enemy adjacent to them. You use the power on your ally and so that enemy grants CA. During the round, that enemy dies and a new enemy moved adjacent to your ally. The power specifies, "one target adjacent to your ally grants CA" and your ally does indeed again have a target adjacent to them...

How do you choose which adjacent enemy grants CA if there are more? The wording about adjacent enemy is a limitation. If you could change the enemy it would have said so explicitly, as it does on other similar powers.
 

For example, say your ally has an enemy adjacent to them. You use the power on your ally and so that enemy grants CA. During the round, that enemy dies and a new enemy moved adjacent to your ally. The power specifies, "one target adjacent to your ally grants CA" and your ally does indeed again have a target adjacent to them...

If it worked this way, the power would make it explicit, something like:

Choose one ally within 5 squares of you. While (duration of this effect), one enemy adjacent to that ally grants combat advantage to him or her. If the enemy currently affected by this power becomes non-adjacent, choose a new enemy to be affected.

Likewise, the power doesn't grant the choice of enemy targeting to the ally that limits target selection.

Your player is obviously trying to pull a fast one here.
 


"Unless otherwise noted, a power is instantaneous and has no lasting effect." PHB 278

Unless your ally can attack on your turn, it does not last. Wait for the errata, probably it lasts untill the end or start of your next turn, and it grants against only one enemy, chosen at the moment the power is used.

In my gorup we do not use broken itens unless someone finds an errata.
 

It's not a huge deal since he mostly got it for its property, but thanks for linking that bit from the PHB clarifying things. We pretty much play all powers and items as written, so I guess his power is pretty much useless until they errata it(if they ever do).

Thanks for the replies everybody.
 

Remove ads

Top